using attributes in content not working?

Solutions for other phpList version 2 users
Forum rules
Please do not ask questions here, this is for Solutions you have discovered or come across.

using attributes in content not working?

Postby hinnerk » 9:34am, Sun 13 Jan, 2013

Hello, I am slowly getting slightly depressive about this: For the last two days I am trying to use some "attributes" in my content.

After importing the Data I want to use I e.g. have a field "Twitter" storing the subscribers Twitteraccount. As far as I understood all I have to do is put [Twitter] somewhere in the Content and PHPList will output the twitteraccount of the user receiving the mail.

Now... this only seems to work for [Email] and other "default" Placeholders. - All my custom fields seem to be inaccessable this way and using [Twitter] results in a blank line... anyone an idea? do I do it wrong? is it broken?

Thanks for your help,
Hinnerk
hinnerk
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 9:18am, Sun 13 Jan, 2013

Re: using attributes in content not working?

Postby Dragonrider » 12:32pm, Sun 13 Jan, 2013

Have you created this Twitter attribute, is it TWITTER or Twitter (may make a difference) and is this attribute added to your subscribe page and finally, has anyone added their details to this field?

Then providing the above is correct, adding [Twitter] within your content for your messages, it should work.
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.10 (21 October 2014) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3245
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Re: using attributes in content not working?

Postby hinnerk » 10:03am, Mon 14 Jan, 2013

Thanks for your hint... it solved the problem: (blush) yes... I typed the data directly in my testing account in phplist and... used my regular e-mailadress to send the test-mails to... problem solved. [need a :wallsmily:]
hinnerk
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 9:18am, Sun 13 Jan, 2013

Re: using attributes in content not working?

Postby Dragonrider » 10:58am, Mon 14 Jan, 2013

hinnerk wrote:Thanks for your hint... it solved the problem: (blush) yes... I typed the data directly in my testing account in phplist and... used my regular e-mailadress to send the test-mails to... problem solved. [need a :wallsmily:]


That's an easy one!

Image
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.10 (21 October 2014) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3245
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom


Return to Answers, Howtos, Tips & Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 2 guests