Are cron jobs possible without PHP (CLI) access?

Solutions for other advanced phplisters

Postby lizc » 2:30pm, Sat 17 Feb, 2007

Many thanks.

Liz
lizc
phpLister
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 10:43am, Tue 26 Sep, 2006
Location: Spain

Postby jackbremer » 7:05pm, Tue 20 Feb, 2007

i found that "escaping" the ampersands works...

not &,
not &,
but \&
jackbremer
PL Geek
 
Posts: 100
Joined: 10:28am, Thu 22 Jun, 2006

Found a solution for this one

Postby Phpdev0r » 10:10pm, Mon 28 May, 2007

Hey,

I'm sorry if I hijack this thread but I found a solution on this one that suits me well:
Creating PHP cronjobs without cron and php-cli

I hope someone is helped with this in the future.

Greets,

Phpdev0r.

Edit: Can someone please fix the link? I don't have the rights to do that because of the spamming policy.
Phpdev0r
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 10:06pm, Mon 28 May, 2007

Postby bennieblanco » 11:15pm, Fri 25 Jul, 2008

H2B2 wrote:Nice solution TdonJohnson, and thanks for sharing.

Could you add some info on the number of messages you send, and on your (config.php) settings for:
- mailqueue_batch_size
- mailqueue_period
- mailqueue_throttle

Thanks!


This solution worked for me and my cron is like this
/usr/local/bin/php -q /home2/*******/public_html/list/admin/cron.php
but I am still geting Cron email with html output, it is actual queue process page that says emails are being sent out.

In my config.php I have: $commandline_users = array();

And my batch is set to send 70 emails every 10 minutes

Do I need to change or add something else?

I am on this since 3 days, please some light here


thnx
bennieblanco
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 5:50pm, Fri 27 Jun, 2008

Question

Postby Guest » 10:04pm, Mon 08 Sep, 2008

First of all, thanks for share.

Now my question:

When Cron works I get an e-mail :

Content-type: text/html
function process_queue(){
//variables $domain = "http://www.mydomain.cl/lists/";
$post_data["page"] = "processqueue";
$post_data["login"] = "my_login";
$post_data["password"] = "mypass";
$url = $domain . "admin/index.php";
//open connection $ch = curl_init();
curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_POST, 1);
curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_URL, $url);
curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_POSTFIELDS, $post_data);
curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_RETURNTRANSFER, 1);
$result = curl_exec($ch);

//clean up curl_close($ch); return $result;
}

$result = process_queue();


------------
Does it means Cron works OK or not?

Thanks!
Guest
 

Previous

Return to Advanced Answers, Howtos, Tips & Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest