Thinking on Advanced Bounce Processing #BNCS

Technical discussion for developers and service providers

Thinking on Advanced Bounce Processing #BNCS

Postby cwrichardson » 8:24am, Mon 13 Oct, 2014

Hi,

I'm fairly new to phpList, but am thinking of making a contribution, and wanted to discuss a little nuance here in the developer space before I did so.

The old documentation on advanced bounce handling* says "Check current bounce rules to see how well your rules are doing. It will report on the bounces that are not caught by the current rules, so you can review those and add new rules to catch them. This page is quite demanding, so be patient when using it."

From my perspective, the biggest reason that it's demanding is that you may have a large number of bounces which aren't caught by any rules, which you want to keep so they may count towards consecutive bounces in the future, but which are cluttering up this page and are indistinguishable from "new" bounces where you might want to write a new regular expression.

The simplest way to handle this (IMO), is to allow a new bounceruleaction which does nothing to the bounce. Then, if a bounce matches that rule, it will be skipped on the Check Bounce Rules page, allowing you to focus on genuinely new/unknown bounces where you might want to write a new rule.

I accomplished this fairly trivially with two lines of code change (diff at bottom of post). But here's the question: when one of these "do nothing" rules is matched, it still increments #BNCS associated with the rule. However, since the bounce message isn't being deleted, this number gets incremented every time you process the rules, which leads to an artificially high number. This isn't necessarily a problem, but it doesn't seem perfect.

My guess is, "perfect" would be that the rule only gets counted once per bounce, and stores somewhere that it's previously matched and doesn't increment on subsequent matches. But ... that may be extraneous code overhead.