Test Messages

Once you've installed phpList Version 2... ask questions here!
Forum rules
Please help the volunteers to help you by supplying the version of phpList you are using, browser & version and if possible, a link to your phpList installation. This is for Version 2 of phpList (the orange one).

Test Messages

Postby lsander » 1:14pm, Fri 23 Feb, 2007

I've composed a message and sent it as a test message. I'm done with it, and don't want to send it later, to any list, etc.

What do I do? (Is it just sitting there waiting to bite me the next time I send a message, or ???)
lsander
PL Geek
 
Posts: 57
Joined: 4:12pm, Thu 11 Jan, 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Postby Dragonrider » 1:35pm, Fri 23 Feb, 2007

Nope, it's still in stasis, but unless you specifically go to find it (Messages>Draft or Queued) and hit resend it won't go anywhere. Even then, you need to specify which list(s) it should go to, as at present, it's does not have a list selected.

At least that's how things are set on my installation.
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Postby lsander » 2:21pm, Fri 23 Feb, 2007

Thanks!

I never noticed the Draft or Queued tabs. Very useful, IMHO.

How does a message get into the Draft pile? (I might like to use that later on.)
lsander
PL Geek
 
Posts: 57
Joined: 4:12pm, Thu 11 Jan, 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Postby Dragonrider » 4:34pm, Fri 23 Feb, 2007

lsander wrote:
How does a message get into the Draft pile? (I might like to use that later on.)

When you click the Save Message button before changing tabs or selecting which lists the message will be sent to, each time you do that, it saves a draft message.

I hadn't realised that myself, hence I've a dozen messages saved that were saved each time I visited the different tabs!
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Postby lsander » 4:37pm, Fri 23 Feb, 2007

I'm starting to figure this stuff out, and getting more and more impressed with phplist's capabilities. (Now if we only had a proper users manual!)

What determines which message(s) are sent when you select the lists? I'm guessing that it's only the current message on the screen.
lsander
PL Geek
 
Posts: 57
Joined: 4:12pm, Thu 11 Jan, 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Postby Dragonrider » 4:56pm, Fri 23 Feb, 2007

lsander wrote:What determines which message(s) are sent when you select the lists? I'm guessing that it's only the current message on the screen.

From what I understand, and I'm quite new to phplist myself, it's gonna be the currently active message, after all, you wouldn't want your old, out of date messages being sent everytime you sent a new message now would you. :D
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Postby lsander » 5:04pm, Fri 23 Feb, 2007

Yes, but there's talk of a "message queue." What I'm wondering is whether that queue is only one message long. I'm thinking that it IS, but I'm new, too.
lsander
PL Geek
 
Posts: 57
Joined: 4:12pm, Thu 11 Jan, 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Postby lsander » 2:14am, Sun 25 Feb, 2007

I think I've figured it out. You create a message and tell phplist to send it to a list. It doesn't go out until you send all the messages in the queue.

You can create another message and send it to a list, then another and another, etc.

When they're all ready to go, you tell phplist to send the messages in the queue. (I don't remember the exact dialog, but it's there.)
lsander
PL Geek
 
Posts: 57
Joined: 4:12pm, Thu 11 Jan, 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA


Return to Question & Problems - after installing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests