Event log shows "invalid login"'s after sending fi

Once you've installed phpList Version 2... ask questions here!
Forum rules
Please help the volunteers to help you by supplying the version of phpList you are using, browser & version and if possible, a link to your phpList installation. This is for Version 2 of phpList (the orange one).

Event log shows "invalid login"'s after sending fi

Postby Stemage » 10:02pm, Mon 26 Feb, 2007

I'm trying to send out a mailer. I've set the throttles accordingly, and months ago I had no issues. Now, I choose to process my queue and the first batch leaves (and successfully sends), but after that, the log file says the following:

Code: Select all
11995   del   login   2007-02-26 15:30:02   invalid login from ??.??.???.???, tried logging in as USERNAME
11994   del   login   2007-02-26 15:15:02   invalid login from ??.??.???.???, tried logging in as USERNAME
11993   del   login   2007-02-26 15:00:01   invalid login from ??.??.???.???, tried logging in as USERNAME
11992   del   login   2007-02-26 14:45:01   invalid login from ??.??.???.???, tried logging in as USERNAME
11991   del   login   2007-02-26 14:30:02   invalid login from ??.??.???.???, tried logging in as USERNAME
11990   del   processqueue   2007-02-26 14:29:09   Waiting for 3600 seconds before reloading
11989   del   processqueue   2007-02-26 14:29:09   Finished this run


Of course, it shows a username, and my IP. I assume it is trying to login using my database username for something, because that's what it shows?? If so, I wonder why it's failing. Every 15 minutes it tries to queue up the next batch, but it fails. I can't get phplist to send past the first batch.

Any troubleshooting ideas? What should this login BE?
Stemage
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 9:55pm, Mon 26 Feb, 2007

Re: Event log shows "invalid login"'s after sendin

Postby H2B2 » 11:13pm, Mon 26 Feb, 2007

Yes this is a bit strange. I can't remember having seen this reported before on the forum, though I may have missed a few posts of course.

Is assume you are using a cron job. Have you configured this setting in config.php and does this user array correspond with the user mentioned in the crontab file?
Code: Select all
Command line users
# if you use commandline, you will need to identify the users who are allowed to run
# the script. See README.commandline for more info
$commandline_users = array("admin");
# or you can use the following to disable the check (take off the # in front of the line)
# $commandline_users = array();


Is your server running PHP-cli or PHP-cgi. In the case of PHP-cgi -and given that you are using batch processing- did you use the reload parameter in your crontab as described in the phplist/cron docs?

Try to be more detailed when providing info on the issue, e.g. your system setup, mailqueue processing settings, etc.. This might give others a better understanding of possible causes.
H2B2
Moderator
 
Posts: 7188
Joined: 1:51am, Wed 15 Mar, 2006

Postby Stemage » 8:24pm, Tue 27 Feb, 2007

I tried again this AM and everything appears to be OK. I'm honestly not sure what the trouble is. ?? Something obviously serverside and not phplist releated. thanks for the great response though!
Stemage
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 9:55pm, Mon 26 Feb, 2007


Return to Question & Problems - after installing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron