Change PHPlist Hyperlink

Once you've installed phpList Version 2... ask questions here!
Forum rules
Please help the volunteers to help you by supplying the version of phpList you are using, browser & version and if possible, a link to your phpList installation. This is for Version 2 of phpList (the orange one).

Change PHPlist Hyperlink

Postby sudheeranna » 7:56am, Sun 25 Mar, 2007

Hi,

I'd like to change the phplist dot com hyperlink to something else. I have done this for the admin pages but can't seem to figure out how to do it for user and subscribe pages.

Please tell me from which page the phplist dot com hyperlink is coming from.

Note: I'm talking about the phplist dot com linked to the PHPlist logo on the top left corner of the page.

Thanks,
sudheeranna
phpLister
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 7:50am, Sun 25 Mar, 2007
Location: Bangalore

Postby Dragonrider » 11:23am, Sun 25 Mar, 2007

What do you want to change it to? I'm curious?
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Change Link

Postby sudheeranna » 11:31am, Sun 25 Mar, 2007

Hi,

I would like to change it to something like mysite dot com. The logo usually has the hyperlink to the home page. That's why I would like to change the link to the home page.

I'd rather display the credits at the bottom of the page.
sudheeranna
phpLister
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 7:50am, Sun 25 Mar, 2007
Location: Bangalore

Hyperlink

Postby sudheeranna » 11:39am, Sun 25 Mar, 2007

PS: I have already changed the logo. The page displays my own logo instead of the default PHPList logo.
sudheeranna
phpLister
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 7:50am, Sun 25 Mar, 2007
Location: Bangalore

Postby Dragonrider » 12:29pm, Sun 25 Mar, 2007

So, you want to use phpList on what looks like it could be a commercial site, but rebadge it so it looks like it is your own design? Is that right?

If so, you need to contact the authors of phpList and approach them on this matter I would think. Or have I completely misunderstood you?
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Change PHPlist Hyperlink

Postby sudheeranna » 11:28pm, Sun 25 Mar, 2007

Yes. I want to brand the web site.

I thought users would have hacked it and would let me know how to do it quickly.
sudheeranna
phpLister
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 7:50am, Sun 25 Mar, 2007
Location: Bangalore

Anybody?

Postby sudheeranna » 10:34am, Mon 26 Mar, 2007

Anybody?
sudheeranna
phpLister
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 7:50am, Sun 25 Mar, 2007
Location: Bangalore

Re: Change PHPlist Hyperlink

Postby Dragonrider » 10:49am, Mon 26 Mar, 2007

sudheeranna wrote:Yes. I want to brand the web site.

I thought users would have hacked it and would let me know how to do it quickly.

So, you want to rip off phpList and all the hard work that Michael has put into developing it and say it's your own work!

Sounds like Software Piracy to me I'm sorry to say! :evil:
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

brand

Postby sudheeranna » 11:25pm, Mon 26 Mar, 2007

/*
So, you want to rip off phpList and all the hard work that Michael has put into developing it and say it's your own work!

Sounds like Software Piracy to me I'm sorry to say! Evil or Very Mad
*/

Hello? Do we have a confusion here?

Does adding own logo and link on the page header mean that it's "ripping off phpList and all the hard work that Michael has put into developing it"? *sigh*

Do we need to go back to basics understand what software piracy is?

I don't feel like using the software with the PHPList logo and te link on the page header. I don't want my users to click on the link and think that they would be redirected to the home page.

I am indeed a staunch supporter of Free and Open Source software. I have used several Open Source CMS before and customized and branded it to whatever I feel like. Your point will be valid if and only if somebody sells the software in a different name and does not provide the modified source code.

All I want to do is to change the link to my own home page. In fact with Drupal and other Open Source Software there is an option to upload the logo from the administrator's control panel. I had clearly mentioned in my second post that I would display the credits in the footer.

Have I made my point clear?
sudheeranna
phpLister
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 7:50am, Sun 25 Mar, 2007
Location: Bangalore

Change Link

Postby sudheeranna » 1:39am, Sat 31 Mar, 2007

Ok. I found the answer.

There is an option to edit the HTML header under Configure menu. I did that and am all set.
sudheeranna
phpLister
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 7:50am, Sun 25 Mar, 2007
Location: Bangalore


Return to Question & Problems - after installing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests