No content area on "Send A Message" - phplist 2.10.10 update

Questions & Problems about Installing or Upgrading Version 2 phpList
Forum rules
Please help the volunteers to help you by supplying the version of phpList you are using, browser & version and if possible, a link to your phpList installation. This is for Version 2 of phpList (the orange one).

No content area on "Send A Message" - phplist 2.10.10 update

Postby karma » 3:12am, Wed 21 Oct, 2009

I just upgraded from 2.10.4 to 2.10.10. After finishing according to the instructions, I had the same problem many have had. My phplist-Send A Message page was completely blank underneath the tabs, as shown in the attachment.

My installation stats:

PHP 4.4.9
mySQL 5.0.81
asp_tags Off

My database encoding:
latin1_swedish_ci

I tried all of the many listed fixes, to no avail - nothing worked:

- turn FCKEditor off in configure.php file (DIDN'T WORK)
(strange that this doesn't do anything for the problem....)
viewtopic.php?p=37796#p37796

- remove lines 589-592 of /admin/fckphplist.php (DIDN'T WORK)
viewtopic.php?p=37796#p37796

- change lines 48-50 of /admin/FCKeditor/fckeditor.html (DIDN'T WORK)
(actually, it's now lines 119-120)
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=25205

- replace entire FCKEditor folder with newly downloaded one (DIDN'T WORK)
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=25205

WHAT DOES WORK:
- replacing the send_core.php file with the one from here:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=24748
(which simply implements the switching of lines 1034 and 1040 according to the instructions in that thread and elsewhere.)

I would not call this a "minor" bug, since it has taken me more than a day to research all the threads, try all the fixes, and finally find something that works, but that is how this issue is classified in the mantis bug database (http://mantis.phplist.com/view.php?id=15287). I'm going to try and add something to that bug report to bump this up to where it should be.
Attachments
nocontent.jpg
nocontent.jpg (117.85 KiB) Viewed 5683 times
karma
PL Nut
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 5:42pm, Thu 30 Dec, 2004

Re: No content area on "Send A Message" - phplist 2.10.10 update

Postby lizeff » 5:24pm, Wed 24 Feb, 2010

Thank you so much for this post! It boggles my mind that I had to read 2-year old topics to try to find out why this software doesn't work out of the box. And I almost went through DreamHost to create a php.ini file that I could edit just to try that solution. I never even read a single thing about the "send_core.php" file until this post, and that replacement did the ticket! Thanks again for your community service :)
lizeff
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 5:17pm, Wed 24 Feb, 2010

Re: No content area on "Send A Message" - phplist 2.10.10 update

Postby Lenyman » 6:57pm, Mon 11 Apr, 2011

Im lucky finding your help. It worked for me (version 2.10.13 - fresh install). :mrgreen:

Deleting this lines from send_core.php file:
# $utf8_subject = $subject;
# $utf8_from = $from;
# if (strcasecmp($GLOBALS['strCharSet'], 'utf-8') <> 0) {
# $utf8_subject = iconv($GLOBALS['strCharSet'],'UTF-8',$utf8_subject);
# $utf8_from = iconv($GLOBALS['strCharSet'],'UTF-8',$utf8_from);
# }
Lenyman
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 6:53pm, Mon 11 Apr, 2011

Re: No content area on "Send A Message" - phplist 2.10.10 update

Postby NilsC » 8:22pm, Sun 17 Apr, 2011

Lenyman wrote: ...

Thank you Lenyman, deleting those lines from the core fixed my issue.
NilsC
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 8:18pm, Sun 17 Apr, 2011


Return to Installing & Upgrading

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron