Frontend Language does not load after upgrade

Questions & Problems about Installing or Upgrading Version 2 phpList
Forum rules
Please help the volunteers to help you by supplying the version of phpList you are using, browser & version and if possible, a link to your phpList installation. This is for Version 2 of phpList (the orange one).

Frontend Language does not load after upgrade

Postby artefact » 9:43pm, Tue 28 May, 2013

Hi

I upgraded from 2.10.19 to 2.11.9 - upgrade DB - Everything seems working fine except the language file is not loaded.

I made some tests with different languages without success. If I alter the english.inc I can see modification online. That means the english.inc file is well loaded.

Any help would be appreciated

Regards
Greg
artefact
phpLister
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 9:37pm, Tue 28 May, 2013

Re: Frontend Language does not load after upgrade

Postby duncanc » 8:56am, Wed 29 May, 2013

Release 2.11.9 is a 'development' version. For support you will need to subscribe to the development mailing list https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/phplist-developers or raise an issue on Mantis https://mantis.phplist.com/main_page.php.

On my local version of 2.11.9 it seems that the menu items are in the selected language, but not the text on the pages.
duncanc
Moderator
 
Posts: 2440
Joined: 6:34am, Sat 08 May, 2010
Location: London

Re: Frontend Language does not load after upgrade

Postby artefact » 8:32am, Thu 30 May, 2013

Hi

I did it here https://mantis.phplist.com/view.php?id=16797

That concern the frontend view!

Greg
artefact
phpLister
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 9:37pm, Tue 28 May, 2013

Re: Frontend Language does not load after upgrade

Postby duncanc » 8:44am, Thu 30 May, 2013

Yesterday there was a new release, 2.11.10 that might solve your problem.

Main things I tried to sort out are:

1. Initialisation of translations. To be able to use the translations as
they are at time of packaging a version, I include the "po" files.
However, the "gettext" mechanism in PHP is very system dependent, and
often hard to configure. So, instead, I parse the PO and load it into
the database. This is done "on demand" when switching to a new language.
duncanc
Moderator
 
Posts: 2440
Joined: 6:34am, Sat 08 May, 2010
Location: London


Return to Installing & Upgrading

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests