Update link not on home page

Questions & Problems about Installing or Upgrading with Version 3 phpList.
Forum rules
Please help the volunteers to help you by supplying the version of phpList you are using, browser & version and if possible, a link to your phpList installation.

Update link not on home page

Postby suebelle » 2:47pm, Wed 30 Jul, 2014

I've tried upgrading a hundred times, but the Upgrade link just will NOT appear on my php admin home page. The only things I have under the System Functions section are the normal Setup, dbcheck, and eventlog links. I'm using a PC with Windows 7 (if that helps).

After my first 99 attempts, here's the methodology I used the 100th time (sorry, I'm being facetious :wink: ):
1. I copied my config.php file onto a flash drive.
2. I downloaded the upgraded php zip folder and replaced the old one with it.
3. The config file I copied onto my flash drive replaces the one in the newly updated folder.
4. I go to "http://yourdomain/lists/admin/" looking for the expected "upgrade" link, but it's not there. When I scroll to the bottom of the page, it still has "version 2.10.19" listed as my current version.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance!
suebelle
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2:21pm, Wed 30 Jul, 2014

Re: Update link not on home page

Postby Dragonrider » 3:27pm, Wed 30 Jul, 2014

Hi Sue,

Firstly, welcome to the forums, and secondly, we are talking about phpLIST are we, you keep mentioning php but not phpList (which are two very different things).

Looking at your admin pages and even your public lists page, where people can subscribe, what is the basic colour scheme please? If it's mainly orange then you are still looking at your phpList 2 installation, if it's changed to mostly Greys, then you are on Version 3.

If orange, and your phplist installation is at yourdomain/lists, then I have to ask where did you upload the lists directory (and all it's contents) from the version 3 zip to on your server?
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Re: Update link not on home page

Postby suebelle » 4:42pm, Wed 30 Jul, 2014

Well, shoot...
Now, when I try to go to the login page, I have a blank screen in my web browser.

...I'm just gonna stop touching it now...

And yes, my mistake - I'm talking about phpList. It's an orange color scheme.

*sigh* I'd probably be better off just removing everything and re-installing from scratch - I've got it so messed up now. What I did when I first started was: I did a search for where phplist was. It was in "C:\Users\owner\Desktop\Misc\E-MAIL BLAST\phplist-3.0.6". I just copied the config.php file, replaced the entire phplist-3.0.6 folder with the new one and replaced the config file with the old one. That's it. Just now, I looked in "C:\WWWROOT\lists" and saw another config file (btw, we use Dreamweaver, if that's of any relevance), so, like an idiot, I went and replaced it with the old config file too without really knowing what it was. That's when I realized that I now have a blank screen when I try to login to phplist.

Any help would be wonderful.
suebelle
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2:21pm, Wed 30 Jul, 2014

Re: Update link not on home page

Postby Dragonrider » 8:43pm, Wed 30 Jul, 2014

Oh dear, touching things never seems to work out too well! :)

Okay, if the colour scheme is still orange, you've not overwritten your old version with the new.
Assuming your install is on a server and not just on your computer, from yourdomain.com/ whats the path to your old V2 installation please. Then where did you upload V3 to your server, IE: what's its path from yourdomain.com/ ?

If you've uploaded the entire contents of the 3.0.6 zip file, then you should really have browsed into the contents of the Zip, unpacking it to your computer somewhere that you can find it, and uploaded the lists directory and all it's contents.

It might be worth uploaded V3 to a "lists3" directory and then copying over the config.php file, amending it to use the lists3 directory rather than the V2 directory, "lists"? perhaps.
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Re: Update link not on home page

Postby suebelle » 3:23pm, Thu 31 Jul, 2014

Okay, the boss-man just had one of his computer guru buddies over and he fixed me up. I have no idea what the man did, but it's working now. I wish I knew how he got it working, but I probably wouldn't have understood it anyway... :lol:

Thank you so much for helping one as technologically-inept as myself! :)
suebelle
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2:21pm, Wed 30 Jul, 2014


Return to Installing and Upgrading

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron