3.0.6 Update Doesn't take into account new AmazonSES servers

Questions & Problems about Installing or Upgrading with Version 3 phpList.
Forum rules
Please help the volunteers to help you by supplying the version of phpList you are using, browser & version and if possible, a link to your phpList installation.

3.0.6 Update Doesn't take into account new AmazonSES servers

Postby utopiaopera » 11:49am, Tue 05 Aug, 2014

Sending a campaign out yesterday, I noticed that the update has reverted my Amazon SES server settings to a default.

Up until recently Amazon only offered one SES server location:

US-EAST (N.Viginia)
email.us-east-1.amazonaws.com
(email-smtp.us-east-1.amazonaws.com)

But they now offer two new locations:

US-WEST(Oregon)
email.us-west-2.amazonaws.com
(email-smtp.us-west-2.amazonaws.com)

EU (Ireland)
email.eu-west-1.amazonaws.com
(email-smtp.eu-west-1.amazonaws.com)

Here is a list of files before and after the update, with which bits of server address code reverted from my EU Ireland server address back to the US server address:

PHPList 3.0.5

config/ses.php (EU)
config/config-smtp.php (EU)
admin/init.php (EU)

PHPList 3.0.6

admin/class.phplistmailer.php (US)
config/ses.php (EU)
config/config-smtp.php (EU)
admin/init.php (US)

So it seems there is a new file in admin/class.phplistmailer.php, which has the default US server and the admin/init.php file settings were erased over after the update with the default US server... so it's one of these files where the eventual server address is used to send emails out.

Hopefully future updates won't write-over individual SES server choices and it become a little easier to implement.

Hope this helps developers and users alike.
Last edited by utopiaopera on 12:40pm, Tue 05 Aug, 2014, edited 2 times in total.
utopiaopera
PL Nut
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 4:15pm, Tue 19 Nov, 2013

Re: 3.0.6 Update Doesn't take into account new AmazonSES ser

Postby utopiaopera » 12:01pm, Tue 05 Aug, 2014

UPDATE,

You need to change both of the US files listed in under 3.0.6 to your server choice (in my case email.eu-west-1.amazonaws.com) for it to work.
utopiaopera
PL Nut
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 4:15pm, Tue 19 Nov, 2013

Re: 3.0.6 Update Doesn't take into account new AmazonSES ser

Postby danwaterloo » 12:44pm, Thu 07 Aug, 2014

I think the ultimate solution would be to 'abstract' the Amazon server into a variable that is set in the config.php file... (and would have a default value (init.php?) that would at least specify a location (which would likely be the wrong location).

Thanks for posting this... do you want to put this suggestion in Mantis? (or I could post it there if you'd like).
danwaterloo
PL Master
 
Posts: 276
Joined: 3:51am, Wed 30 Oct, 2013
Location: http://www.phplistsupport.com


Return to Installing and Upgrading

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron