[SOLVED] Configuration of MySQL host

Questions & Problems about Installing or Upgrading with Version 3 phpList.
Forum rules
Please help the volunteers to help you by supplying the version of phpList you are using, browser & version and if possible, a link to your phpList installation.

[SOLVED] Configuration of MySQL host

Postby rcolpo » 3:56am, Sun 25 Jan, 2015

My website is hosted in a server where I don't know if MySQL is installed. It probably runs on windows.

Is the "database_user" and "database_password" created for each file or there is a sinlge one for the whole server? Is it the same password I use to update my website?

My website is "http://interviewintercambio.com.br/"

This means I should complete the config.php file with
$database_host = "http://www.interviewintercambio.com.br" ?

Sorry but I'm completely naive about MySQL and the documantation don't answer these questions. I successfully copied the "lists" file in my webpage:
http://interviewintercambio.com.br/lists/

Best regard and thank you.
Rodrigo.
rcolpo
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 3:21am, Sun 25 Jan, 2015

Re: Configuration of MySQL host

Postby Dragonrider » 9:58am, Sun 25 Jan, 2015

HI,

Does your web host offer some sort of control panel? Usually this is cPanel or Plesk though there are others.
Do you pay for your hosting or is it free? (If it's free, you probably don't have MySQL or PHP, in which case phpList won't work.

Your Database settings should something like these:
cPanel Configuration Settings

Host name = either localhost (literally put localhost) or a specific name shown in your database section of your cPanel.
Database name = (cpanelUsername_databaseName)
Database username = (cpanelUsername_databaseUsername)
Database password = (the password you picked)

Where do you make the changes? In lists/config/config.php file.

If you do not have this info, ask your host what to use, if they say they don't offer MySQL then find a new host, one that does.
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Re: Configuration of MySQL host

Postby rcolpo » 5:43pm, Tue 03 Feb, 2015

Thanks a lot Dragonrider.

I did some progress in installing PhpList.

The web host I'm using is from a friend of mine and it does have cPanel. I logged in and created a MySQL Database, a user with all privileges and linked the database to the user. Then I added my IP address in the allowed list of "Remote Database Access Hosts".

At this point I was able to remotely access the MySQL database I have created using HeidiSQL. Then I used the same configuration of HeidiSQL in the config.php file and updated it to http://www.interviewintercambio.com.br/lists/config/.

Unfortunately I still have the following error message when accessing http://www.interviewintercambio.com.br/lists/admin/

"Unknown database host to connected to, please check your configuration"

Any guesses?
rcolpo
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 3:21am, Sun 25 Jan, 2015

Re: Configuration of MySQL host

Postby Dragonrider » 6:29pm, Tue 03 Feb, 2015

Obviously I cannot read your config file, but if you PM me with your database settings that you have in config.php and the same from your HeidiSQL settings, I would hopefully be able to return you a working section of your config.php file

There should be no need to use remote access within phpList.
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Re: Configuration of MySQL host

Postby rcolpo » 10:07am, Thu 05 Feb, 2015

Even using the server' IP address as host name I could not connect, but then I added the server' IP address in the list of allowed IPs to have "Remote Database Access Hosts", and it worked.
Adding my IP in the "Remote Database Access Hosts" list (available in the cPanel) is necessary for me to have access to my MySQL database using a MySQL client like Navicat, phpMyAdmin, Workbench, Dreamweaver or HeidiSQL. I was when I realized that when I'm trying to connect to the database through my website, it was not my IP address which was accessing the database, but the website IP address. So I added the website IP address into the "Remote Database Access Hosts" list, and it worked.
rcolpo
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 3:21am, Sun 25 Jan, 2015

Re: Configuration of MySQL host

Postby Dragonrider » 10:44am, Thu 05 Feb, 2015

Thanks for posting your solution. It may help someone else who has the same issue.
Much appreciated. :)
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom


Return to Installing and Upgrading

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron