The plugin root directory is not writable, please install pl

Once you've installed phpList... ask questions here!
Forum rules
Please help the volunteers to help you by supplying the version of phpList you are using, browser & version and if possible, a link to your phpList installation.

The plugin root directory is not writable, please install pl

Postby DutchForce » 7:26am, Fri 06 Sep, 2013

The plugin root directory is not writable, please install plugins manually

Thats the message I get when I click on "config" - "plugins"

After converting from 2.10 to 3.02 I am getting this message. I installed the CKeditor manuelly in /plugins and the FCKeditor that comes with PHPList 3.02 is installed in:

"mydomain"/news/admin/plugins/fckphplist/fckeditor.

I used the new config file that comes with V3.02 and filled it with al the information from the old config file. So it shouldn´t be a problem because I use the old config file (define('PLUGIN_ROOTDIR','/plugins');)

When I push the menu Config - settings the Compostion Setting where I can change the path to the editor (as mentioned in http://forums.phplist.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=39367) is not visible in my installation!!

Someone any idea what I am doing wrong
DutchForce
phpLister
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 9:26am, Tue 07 Aug, 2012

Re: The plugin root directory is not writable, please instal

Postby Dragonrider » 8:32am, Fri 06 Sep, 2013

This is what you should be seeing, can you share what you actually can see please?

Image
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Re: The plugin root directory is not writable, please instal

Postby DutchForce » 9:54am, Fri 06 Sep, 2013

Image

These are the last items I can see. Before these comes "Segmentation setting"

Clicking on >> Config - plugins << produces the next picture:

Image

If you need more pictures, just say so. I am glad you did respond so quick.
DutchForce
phpLister
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 9:26am, Tue 07 Aug, 2012

Re: The plugin root directory is not writable, please instal

Postby Sven2157 » 11:48am, Fri 06 Sep, 2013

DutchForce wrote:The plugin root directory is not writable, please install plugins manually

-- So make it writable ... Change the permissions( CHMOD ) of the directory to 755.

------------- Owner ---- Group ---- Public
READ -------- X ----------- X ---------- X ---
WRITE ------ X ------------------------------
EXECUTE ---- X ----------- X --------- X ----
------------------------------------------------
---------------- 7 ---------- 5 ---------- 5 ----
Last edited by Sven2157 on 12:00pm, Fri 06 Sep, 2013, edited 2 times in total.
Sven2157
PL Master
 
Posts: 170
Joined: 12:18pm, Fri 07 Jun, 2013

Re: The plugin root directory is not writable, please instal

Postby DutchForce » 11:55am, Fri 06 Sep, 2013

That´s what I did first!

Also 777 didn´t solve the problem :(
DutchForce
phpLister
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 9:26am, Tue 07 Aug, 2012

Re: The plugin root directory is not writable, please instal

Postby Sven2157 » 12:01pm, Fri 06 Sep, 2013

DutchForce wrote:That´s what I did first!

Also 777 didn´t solve the problem :(

Did you set that permission on the folder, or for folders and files contained - including sub-directories?
Sven2157
PL Master
 
Posts: 170
Joined: 12:18pm, Fri 07 Jun, 2013

Re: The plugin root directory is not writable, please instal

Postby DutchForce » 12:26pm, Fri 06 Sep, 2013

On all ! Including subdirectories and files.

But I am missing a part of the menu - thta´s weird ......
DutchForce
phpLister
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 9:26am, Tue 07 Aug, 2012

Re: The plugin root directory is not writable, please instal

Postby Sven2157 » 12:51pm, Fri 06 Sep, 2013

DutchForce wrote:On all !

That can be mistaken for yelling ... :?

This new version, has a new caching system, and you may just have to clear your browser cache. Have you tried that?

*** EDIT ***
I just noticed, this:
Code: Select all
define("PLUGIN_ROOTDIR","/plugins");

needs to be changed to:
Code: Select all
define("PLUGIN_ROOTDIR","plugins");

If you are using the default location, then you don't need the leading '/' when defining the location of the plugin directory. Failing that, try the plugin definition with an absolute path - config.php, line ~627

Sven2157
Sven2157
PL Master
 
Posts: 170
Joined: 12:18pm, Fri 07 Jun, 2013

Re: The plugin root directory is not writable, please instal

Postby DutchForce » 8:28pm, Fri 06 Sep, 2013

Hi Sven !!!

THANKS - The last one was really a hit. Now I know what a small "/" at the wrong place can cause.
I now can configure the Composition settings on the config-menu

Image

Only one thing keeps me wondering. When I start a new campaign neither the FCKeditor nor the CKEditor won´t appear. I get following message:

Image

Where the h.ll does this double "editoreditor" in the path come from ? This directory doesn´t exist on the server.

I have no idea. I downloaded a new copy of the FCKeditor and manually transfered it to the plugin directory (plugins/FCKeditor).

Do you have any idea where to start searching?

Once again - Thanks for your answers, they really helped !!
DutchForce
phpLister
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 9:26am, Tue 07 Aug, 2012

Re: The plugin root directory is not writable, please instal

Postby Sven2157 » 8:40pm, Fri 06 Sep, 2013

DutchForce wrote:I have no idea. I downloaded a new copy of the FCKeditor and manually transfered it to the plugin directory (plugins/FCKeditor).

Do you have any idea where to start searching?

Once again - Thanks for your answers, they really helped !!

No problem :wink:

The editor is probably cached in the system, so when you corrected the path, it confused it.

Try disabling the FCKeditor, and the CKEditor. Then go to another webpage, like http://google.com. Make sure that no other pages are open, and clear your browsing cache; you need to try to remove the $_SESSION cookie. Then re-enable ONE of the two editors.

... OR ...

If that doesn't work, try waiting like an hour, so the $_SESSION cookie times out. Then re-enable ONE of the two editors.

Sven2157
Sven2157
PL Master
 
Posts: 170
Joined: 12:18pm, Fri 07 Jun, 2013

Re: The plugin root directory is not writable, please instal

Postby DutchForce » 9:44am, Mon 09 Sep, 2013

Thanks to everybody - especially to David "the Dragonrider" :!: :!:

As it seems now it was a "broken" installation of the CKEditor wich causes it not to appear.
The FCKeditor is still complaining about a path an config file but as I only need one functional editor that will do for now.

Thanks again for all your efforts and tips - great job

DutchForce
DutchForce
phpLister
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 9:26am, Tue 07 Aug, 2012

Re: The plugin root directory is not writable, please instal

Postby Dragonrider » 11:34am, Mon 09 Sep, 2013

DutchForce wrote:As it seems now it was a "broken" installation of the CKEditor wich causes it not to appear.

DutchForce

Turned out the CKEditor FILE was present, but the CKEDitor DIRECTORY was missing, replacing that fixed the CKEditor and for those interested, the plugin setting in config.php was correct, the directory was readable and nowhere was a setting pointing to /news/admin/plugins/etc for the FCKEditor so simplest fix was to use CKEditor which is neater and matches phpList V3 anyway.
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Re: The plugin root directory is not writable, please instal

Postby morted » 11:30pm, Wed 22 Jan, 2014

I have tried all the suggestions in this thread, but phplist still complains that the plugin root directory is not writable and the editor section of the settings is missing. The directory is writable, so I am completely confused as to why I have this problem. I have a fresh install of 3.0.5.
morted
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 11:27pm, Wed 22 Jan, 2014

Re: The plugin root directory is not writable, please instal

Postby Dragonrider » 9:09am, Thu 23 Jan, 2014

morted wrote:I have tried all the suggestions in this thread, but phplist still complains that the plugin root directory is not writable and the editor section of the settings is missing. The directory is writable, so I am completely confused as to why I have this problem. I have a fresh install of 3.0.5.

Need more info please.

So, what is the path of your plugin directory? What setting have you in config/config.php for your define("PLUGIN_ROOTDIR","plugins"); ???
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Re: The plugin root directory is not writable, please instal

Postby morted » 5:52pm, Thu 23 Jan, 2014

The plugin path is correct and writable. Plugin directory is:

/home/USERNAME/public_html/lists/admin/plugins
(username obfuscated to protect the innocent)

Config directory is here:

/home/USERNAME/public_html/lists/config

Config file is here:

/home/USERNAME/public_html/lists/config/config.php

I am working on a cPanel host with suExec, so all files are 644 and directories are 755. I have other domains on the same VPS that have no problems running PHP or other code.

There was no PLUGIN_ROOTDIR line in my config.php, but there is in the config_extended.php:

define("PLUGIN_ROOTDIR","plugins");

which as I read the docs should be correct. Directory listing of the plugins directory:

# ls
./ ../ _dummy fckphplist/ fckphplist.php .htaccess
morted
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 11:27pm, Wed 22 Jan, 2014

Next

Return to Questions and Problems after Installing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests