Page 1 of 1

Don't want to send in batch, only delay between messages

PostPosted: 7:51pm, Mon 09 Sep, 2013
by ovans
Hi!

I keep getting this message in the process queue:
"Please leave this window open. You have batch processing enabled, so it will reload several times to send the messages. Reports will be sent by email to ..."

I've tried different settings in the config php file. In version 2 I didn't have to keep the process queue open because i didn't use batch processing. I've been using that setting for years and like it. How do i set this to only use seconds between messages in version 3?

This is my config setting:
Code: Select all
# If you set up your system to send the message automatically (from commandline),
# you can set this value to 0, so "Process Queue" will disappear from the site
# this will also stop users from loading the page on the web frontend, so you will
# have to make sure that you run the queue from the commandline
# check README.commandline how to do this
define ("MANUALLY_PROCESS_QUEUE",1);

# batch processing
# if you are on a shared host, it will probably be appreciated if you don't send
# out loads of emails in one go. To do this, you can configure batch processing.
# Please note, the following two values can be overridden by your ISP by using
# a server wide configuration. So if you notice these values to be different
# in reality, that may be the case

# max messages to process
# if there are multiple messages in the queue, set a maximum to work on
define('MAX_PROCESS_MESSAGE',999);

# define the amount of emails you want to send per period. If 0, batch processing
# is disabled and messages are sent out as fast as possible
define("MAILQUEUE_BATCH_SIZE",0);

# define the length of one batch processing period, in seconds (3600 is an hour)
define("MAILQUEUE_BATCH_PERIOD",3600);

# to avoid overloading the server that sends your email, you can add a little delay
# between messages that will spread the load of sending
# you will need to find a good value for your own server
# value is in seconds, and you can use fractions, eg "0.5" is half a second
# (or you can play with the autothrottle below)
define('MAILQUEUE_THROTTLE',8);

# Mailqueue autothrottle. This will try to automatically change the delay
# between messages to make sure that the MAILQUEUE_BATCH_SIZE (above) is spread evently over
# MAILQUEUE_BATCH_PERIOD, instead of firing the Batch in the first few minutes of the period
# and then waiting for the next period. This only works with mailqueue_throttle off
# and MAILQUEUE_BATCH_PERIOD being a positive value
# it still needs tweaking, so send your feedback to mantis.phplist.com if you find
# any issues with it
define('MAILQUEUE_AUTOTHROTTLE',0);

# Domain Throttling
# You can activate domain throttling, by setting USE_DOMAIN_THROTTLE to 1
# define the maximum amount of emails you want to allow sending to any domain and the number
# of seconds for that amount. This will make sure you don't send too many emails to one domain
# which may cause blacklisting. Particularly the big ones are tricky about this.
# it may cause a dramatic increase in the amount of time to send a message, depending on how
# many users you have that have the same domain (eg hotmail.com)
# if too many failures for throttling occur, the send process will automatically add an extra
# delay to try to improve that. The example sends 1 message every 2 minutes.

define('USE_DOMAIN_THROTTLE',0);
define('DOMAIN_BATCH_SIZE',1);
define('DOMAIN_BATCH_PERIOD',120);

# if you have very large numbers of users on the same domains, this may result in the need
# to run processqueue many times, when you use domain throttling. You can also tell phplist
# to simply delay a bit between messages to increase the number of messages sent per queue run
# if you want to use that set this to 1, otherwise simply run the queue many times. A cron
# process every 10 or 15 minutes is recommended.
define('DOMAIN_AUTO_THROTTLE',0);

# MAX_PROCESSQUEUE_TIME
# to limit the time, regardless of batch processing or other throttling of a single run of "processqueue"
# you can set the MAX_PROCESSQUEUE_TIME in seconds
# if a single queue run exceeds this amount, it will stop, just to pick up from where it left off next time
# this allows multiple installations each to run the queue, but slow installations (eg with large emails)
# set to 0 to disable this feature.
define('MAX_PROCESSQUEUE_TIME',0);

Re: Don't want to send in batch, only delay between messages

PostPosted: 11:16am, Tue 10 Sep, 2013
by duncanc
It appears that the browser based processing has been redesigned in phplist 3 so that a default batch size of 10000 is used.

I have raised an issue on Mantis, the bug tracking system, to try to clarify whether this is deliberate https://mantis.phplist.com/view.php?id=16873.

Re: Don't want to send in batch, only delay between messages

PostPosted: 3:20pm, Sat 14 Sep, 2013
by ovans
OK, so no fix yet :cry:

Re: Don't want to send in batch, only delay between messages

PostPosted: 3:23pm, Thu 07 Nov, 2013
by mariofau2
Me too, I want it back as before, if anything the default could be batch on and then we'd have to turn it off.

I'll add this to mantis. And I'll try the CLI just to see.

Re: Don't want to send in batch, only delay between messages

PostPosted: 7:21pm, Sun 24 Nov, 2013
by rakeljuice
Hello. Is there any solution before comming back to version 2? I have disable the batch processing in config.php but by default it is on. Have no sense...

Re: Don't want to send in batch, only delay between messages

PostPosted: 5:20pm, Mon 25 Nov, 2013
by Bav30
Same problem here. The documentation says that
("MAILQUEUE_BATCH_SIZE",0)
means batch processing is disabled.

That's what I have set in both config.php and config_extended.php.

Yet the queue processing page says "Please leave this window open. You have batch processing enabled, so it will reload several times to send the messages."

This is the second major obvious bug I've found. Did anyone test this before releasing it? Is anyone doing anything to fix it? It's such a hassle to transfer to using a different mailer for my newsletters but it looks like I may have to.

Re: Don't want to send in batch, only delay between messages

PostPosted: 12:13pm, Wed 19 Mar, 2014
by moduleone
Did anyone get a solution to this problem?
I am using v3.0.5.

Re: Don't want to send in batch, only delay between messages

PostPosted: 3:02pm, Fri 18 Jul, 2014
by pulsar21
Any answer to this? I have the same problem with 3.0.6

Re: Don't want to send in batch, only delay between messages

PostPosted: 9:12pm, Mon 21 Jul, 2014
by mariofau2
The bug is closed:

https://mantis.phplist.com/view.php?id=16873

So in 3.0.7 it should be a configurable option.

Re: Don't want to send in batch, only delay between messages

PostPosted: 12:33pm, Fri 14 Nov, 2014
by salaar
Tried to set to 1 but still 5 sec. delay do I set it back to 0 and yes, I've renamed the config-extended.php to config.php. So I'm really lost. I don't know what else to try.

Re: Don't want to send in batch, only delay between messages

PostPosted: 2:32pm, Fri 14 Nov, 2014
by Dragonrider
salaar wrote:Tried to set to 1 but still 5 sec. delay do I set it back to 0 and yes, I've renamed the config-extended.php to config.php. So I'm really lost. I don't know what else to try.

Please explain what you have done, which version of phpList you are using and in general give us some info that will give us volunteers a clue so as to be able to help you.

Thanks :)