[SOLVED] 3.0.10 - send a webpage

Once you've installed phpList... ask questions here!
Forum rules
Please help the volunteers to help you by supplying the version of phpList you are using, browser & version and if possible, a link to your phpList installation.

[SOLVED] 3.0.10 - send a webpage

Postby samhast » 2:15pm, Wed 12 Nov, 2014

I installed 3.0.10 phplist. Before I had an option 'Send a webpage'. Now I don't have that option anymore???

What happend? How can I send a webpage?
samhast
PL Nut
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 11:54am, Fri 24 May, 2013

Re: 3.0.10 - send a webpage

Postby Dragonrider » 4:32pm, Wed 12 Nov, 2014

It's still there as far as I can see.

sendpade.jpg
sendpade.jpg (42.72 KiB) Viewed 5113 times
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Re: 3.0.10 - send a webpage

Postby LeahCorbett » 8:34pm, Wed 12 Nov, 2014

I'm glad I saw this post. :D I've been testing emails and they look fine in the preview on phplist, but then when i get the email, the 500px table is spread across the screen, and the background colors of the table cells are missing, and some of the images are not sized right, etc.

SO, i switched to sending a web page, and all those issues were resolved, except now the footer is missing. I have no idea where to look to fix this. I guess I could just add it to the html code on the page?
LeahCorbett
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 7:20pm, Wed 12 Nov, 2014

Re: 3.0.10 - send a webpage

Postby Dragonrider » 10:32pm, Wed 12 Nov, 2014

LeahCorbett wrote:I'm glad I saw this post. :D I've been testing emails and they look fine in the preview on phplist, but then when i get the email, the 500px table is spread across the screen, and the background colors of the table cells are missing, and some of the images are not sized right, etc.

Sounds to me that your emails are not including any CSS code, don't know why this could happen, except...
LeahCorbett wrote:SO, i switched to sending a web page, and all those issues were resolved, except now the footer is missing. I have no idea where to look to fix this. I guess I could just add it to the html code on the page?

This should appear. I've had no need to use this option before, but I've just sent myself a "send a webpage" email and the footer appeared correctly.

I just wonder if not all the files required are present. Could you check to see if the files match on your web site to those in the lists directory on the upload?
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Re: 3.0.10 - send a webpage

Postby LeahCorbett » 10:48pm, Wed 12 Nov, 2014

So, here's what I learned, the header shows during draft mode SEND TEST emails, but the footer doesn't. HOWEVER, when the real email is finally active and sent, the footer appears. So I had added it in my web page, and now just sent a bunch of emails with duplicate footers. HA! oh well, no one on my mailing list will mind that.

Thank you for getting back to me so quickly! You rock! \m/>.<\m/
LeahCorbett
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 7:20pm, Wed 12 Nov, 2014

Re: 3.0.10 - send a webpage

Postby samhast » 12:41pm, Thu 13 Nov, 2014

I see following screen when I start a campaign

Capture.GIF
Capture.GIF (44.86 KiB) Viewed 5095 times
samhast
PL Nut
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 11:54am, Fri 24 May, 2013

Re: 3.0.10 - send a webpage

Postby Dragonrider » 1:46pm, Thu 13 Nov, 2014

Sam, I've tried the three editors available for phpList, FCKeditor, TinyMCE & CKEditor and all show the Send a webpage option.

Which editor are you using please?

If you click on the Info icon alongside Content, what do you see please?

content.jpg
content.jpg (62.66 KiB) Viewed 5093 times
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Re: 3.0.10 - send a webpage

Postby samhast » 1:52pm, Thu 13 Nov, 2014

Thanks for your quick reply.
I just installed phplist from zero.. So I didn't choose anything you describe....
I just want the option 'Send a webpage'. In my previous install, I had that option. But it was version 3.0.5
This is what I see when I click on the Info button:

Capture1.GIF
Capture1.GIF (159.56 KiB) Viewed 5092 times
samhast
PL Nut
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 11:54am, Fri 24 May, 2013

Re: 3.0.10 - send a webpage

Postby Dragonrider » 2:02pm, Thu 13 Nov, 2014

Which editor are you using please Sam?

Look under Admin>Manage Plugins and see which Editor(s) have a green thumbs up and let me know which are shown as enabled (green).

The info icon to click on is the one next to the Content box, not the Compose box.
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Re: 3.0.10 - send a webpage

Postby samhast » 2:08pm, Thu 13 Nov, 2014

I don't have the icon you said:

content.GIF
content.GIF (38.72 KiB) Viewed 5091 times


editor I use (default phplist install!!!!):

editor.GIF
editor.GIF (24.91 KiB) Viewed 5091 times
samhast
PL Nut
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 11:54am, Fri 24 May, 2013

Re: 3.0.10 - send a webpage

Postby Dragonrider » 3:04pm, Thu 13 Nov, 2014

I don't remember ever having to enable the "Send a Webpage" option anywhere.

However, you can send a webpage without selecting the (for you, non-existent) send a webpage option, simply place [URL:http://your_webpage/] and send message
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Re: 3.0.10 - send a webpage

Postby samhast » 3:44pm, Thu 13 Nov, 2014

I try to install 3.0.5 (where it worked for me!) and then try to upgrade.
Maybe there is a bug in the install of 3.0.10
samhast
PL Nut
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 11:54am, Fri 24 May, 2013

Re: 3.0.10 - send a webpage

Postby samhast » 9:11am, Fri 14 Nov, 2014

It's so strange.. I think I do something wrong during installation?
I installed now 3.0.5 --> same as 3.0.10 no send a webpage option . In my other install I have this option.........................

What am I doing wrong!
samhast
PL Nut
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 11:54am, Fri 24 May, 2013

Re: 3.0.10 - send a webpage

Postby samhast » 9:26am, Fri 14 Nov, 2014

I even copied the installation folder from the server where it works to the other one...
Still the same behavior.............
samhast
PL Nut
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 11:54am, Fri 24 May, 2013

Re: 3.0.10 - send a webpage

Postby samhast » 10:29am, Tue 18 Nov, 2014

SOLUTION: install curl package!!!

apt-get install php5-curl

problem = solved
samhast
PL Nut
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 11:54am, Fri 24 May, 2013


Return to Questions and Problems after Installing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest