RSS rssmanager - how run getrss from cron?

Once you've installed phpList... ask questions here!
Forum rules
Please help the volunteers to help you by supplying the version of phpList you are using, browser & version and if possible, a link to your phpList installation.

RSS rssmanager - how run getrss from cron?

Postby hhadmin » 11:48pm, Mon 19 Jan, 2015

Running 3.08 and rssmanager plugin.

Daily cron job for processqueue running correctly.

RSS cache updates correctly from MANUAL menu interface.

but

Cron job to trigger getrss.php gets message "getrss does not process commandline" and cache not updated.

Config.php allows commandline.

Using cron command:
Code: Select all
/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/php /home/DOMAIN/public_html/mailer/admin/index.php -p getrss -c /home/DOMAIN/public_html/mailer/config/config.php


Also tried using wget in cron:
Code: Select all
wget  --post-data="page=getrss&pi=rssmanager"  http://DOMAIN/mailer/admin/


Same result - cron job runs but no cache update.

How can getrss.php be called from cron in 3.x? Whole point of RSS is automation, so it seems a waste of all the work in building rssmanager if cache can't be automatically updated.

Is there some other command parameter or setting in rssmanager to schedule cache updates?

Thanks
hhadmin
PL Nut
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 9:26pm, Mon 19 Jan, 2015
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: RSS rssmanager - how run getrss from cron?

Postby duncanc » 8:47am, Tue 20 Jan, 2015

When you run a plugin page, such as getrss, the command needs to have a -m parameter that gives the plugin name. In this case -m rssmanager.
duncanc
Moderator
 
Posts: 2440
Joined: 6:34am, Sat 08 May, 2010
Location: London

Re: RSS rssmanager - how run getrss from cron?

Postby hhadmin » 5:04am, Fri 23 Jan, 2015

Thanks very much - that plugin prefix -m did the trick for daily getrss update. I have not seen that documented anywhere, and there are very many outdated instructions on the topic of RSS in the documentation and also in PHPList forum threads .

Related problem: Now the RSS cache is updating daily, but the RSS message does not seem to pick up the revised RSS cache and send it to subscribers. Subscribers and List are all set to Daily RSS, the Campaign has {RSS] in the body and is set to Requeue daily and to Repeat daily.

Are the Campaign settings correct? If so, why is updated RSS not being sent out?

thanks
hhadmin
PL Nut
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 9:26pm, Mon 19 Jan, 2015
Location: Canberra, Australia


Return to Questions and Problems after Installing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron