Bounces and blacklisting

Once you've installed phpList... ask questions here!
Forum rules
Please help the volunteers to help you by supplying the version of phpList you are using, browser & version and if possible, a link to your phpList installation.

Bounces and blacklisting

Postby ComputingFroggy » 11:50pm, Mon 09 Mar, 2015

Hi,

I am trying to figure out how to use the bounces messages and to blakclist or unregister them.

I've found this page, which is old (v2) documentation:
http://docs.phplist.com/AdvancedBounceHandlingInfo.html

I did not get bounce messages when I used v2, so I've got no experience of using this.
What I understand is:
-once set up correctly the bounces messages get their way into phpList, each time the Process bounces is ran.
- more over Process bounces also check the list of bounces in phpList (which have been just added by the Process or already from a previous bounces import) against the rules. If a rule checks out, the matching action is executed.
- the rules can be set up manually or using the Generate Bounce Rules button.

I do get bounces messages filling up each time I run the Process bounces.
Basically, I have set up rules to :
- add subscriber to the do-not-send-list and delete bounce: for all the delivery failures
- unconfirm subscriber and delete bounce: for all the mailbox full failures.

I assume the #bncs is the number of messages matching the rule on which it has been applied.
I have by mistake used add email address to the do-no-send-list and delete bounce instead of add subscriber to the do-not-send-list and delete bounce (note the email adress/subscriber difference). I do not know what the difference is between the two, but at the end of the day, when listing the subscriber blacklisted, phpList gives me only 108 subscribers ... but in the phplist_user_blacklist table, I have 2979 rows.