Unbelievably slow

Once you've installed phpList... ask questions here!
Forum rules
Please help the volunteers to help you by supplying the version of phpList you are using, browser & version and if possible, a link to your phpList installation.

Unbelievably slow

Postby bherrick » 7:31pm, Tue 24 Mar, 2015

So I'm new to phpList and the world of sending mass mailings. We have phpList 3.0.12, I've created a campaign to send to the 566 members of our organization, started the campaign a little over 7 hours ago and so far 88 messages have been sent with 478 to go.

When I installed phpList I was aware our host has a 400 message per hour limit so I researched and made these settings in config.php:

define("MAILQUEUE_BATCH_SIZE",360);
define("MAILQUEUE_BATCH_PERIOD",3600);
define('MAILQUEUE_THROTTLE',1);

7.5 hours and 88 messages? The event will be over before everyone knows about it. What have I done wrong?
bherrick
phpList newbie

Re: Unbelievably slow

Postby danwaterloo » 8:52pm, Tue 24 Mar, 2015

i'd look at the event log, and see if there are any clues...

'system', 'log of events'

is there anything 'interesting' in there?

The next thing to check is your email content... can you send a test email to me at dan@phplistsupport, and I'll look it over?

lastly, I'd probably change the throttle to a little less than 3600/360, or 9 secs, instead of 1 second.
danwaterloo
PL Master

Postby bherrick » 9:32pm, Tue 24 Mar, 2015

Event Log looks disjointed to me, but that may be my fault from lack of experience. I see a repeating sequence:
Processing Message 2
Looking for subscribers
Found them: 532 to process (BH - this number is decrementing)
Processing has started
One campaign to process.
Please leave this window open. phpList will process your queue until all messages have been sent. This may take a while (BH - This one puzzles me. Leave this window open?)
Report of processing will be sent by email

And this sequence repeats.