PHPList Version v3.0.12 - Cron Job Not Working. HELP PLEASE

Once you've installed phpList... ask questions here!
Forum rules
Please help the volunteers to help you by supplying the version of phpList you are using, browser & version and if possible, a link to your phpList installation.

Re: PHPList Version v3.0.12 - Cron Job Not Working. HELP PLE

Postby danwaterloo » 10:40am, Mon 06 Apr, 2015

Hi,

Looking over your settings:
By the way, Dan... do you know what's the best set up for speeding up the sending by batch? I am on a VPS server but I don't want to overload my server by sending unlimited emails per hour. So I want to send using the batch processing. So what I did was to configure my phpList to be able to send 480 emails per hour. Please correct me if this is not the right configuration, as I noticed that the result did not correspond to what I've configured my phpList to do. After 24 hours, my phpList did only send 2,229 emails out of 11,520 (480/hour*24=11,520).

Here's my Queue and Load management:

("MAILQUEUE_BATCH_SIZE",120);
("MAILQUEUE_BATCH_PERIOD",900);
('MAILQUEUE_THROTTLE',5);
('MAILQUEUE_AUTOTHROTTLE',0);
('USE_DOMAIN_THROTTLE',1);
('DOMAIN_BATCH_SIZE',1);
('DOMAIN_BATCH_PERIOD',120);
('DOMAIN_AUTO_THROTTLE',1);
('MAX_PROCESSQUEUE_TIME',0);
-----------------------------------------

in 'english'.... send 120 emails every 900 seconds (15 mins), with a 5 second delay between each email,( or at the rate of 3600secs/hr / 5secs = 720/hr)
At the same time, limit the sending to any given domain at 1 email every 120 secs (2 mins), (don't send more than 30 emails/hr to any given domain i.e. hotmail)

You'll have to check with your hosting company, but it looks like they are limiting your sending to about 100/hour. 2229/24 = 93/hr. You might want to contact them to see if they can raise your hourly limit.

I've noticed that sending with DOMAIN_BATCH_SIZE = turned on will slow down your sending, so that could also be another reason that you are getting a slower sending rate. Since you are only processing the queue every 15 minutes, I'd probably put the DOMAIN_BATCH_PERIOD to 900, and recalculate the Batch Size to ~ 7 or so.

To verify what's causing the slower sending, you should test one thing at a time... ie. start by changing the DOMAIN_BATCH_PERIOD and batch size, see what happens. Then have the hosting company increase your sending limit, see if it goes out faster. Then increase your domain batch size, to say 20 or so, and see what effect that has.

One last suggestion is to increase your MAILQUEUE_THROTTLE to 9 or so... that will 'smooth out' your sending.... spread it out over the batch interval, but also fast enough so that it finishes before the next batch check time.
danwaterloo
PL Master
 
Posts: 276
Joined: 3:51am, Wed 30 Oct, 2013
Location: http://www.phplistsupport.com

Re: PHPList Version v3.0.12 - Cron Job Not Working. HELP PLE

Postby guest » 12:28pm, Mon 06 Apr, 2015

Hi Dan,

Thank you for getting back.

I will try your suggestion and will advise with the result. As for the limit in the number of emails my server can send, I think that's not the problem. Because I am on VPS (Virtual Private Server), not a shared hosting. VPS can send unlimited emails per day depending on the specs. But still, I will try asking my hosting provider regarding the issue on the limit of 100/hour as per your calculation.

So, I guess I''l have to try your suggestions on the mail queue settings. I will get back to you then.

Thank you.
guest, working from home
http://csl.ink/cVj
guest
phpLister
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 5:07am, Sun 15 May, 2011

Re: PHPList Version v3.0.12 - Cron Job Not Working. HELP PLE

Postby MarkA. » 9:22pm, Mon 06 Apr, 2015

Hello Dan and guest,

I tried some testing with some of the suggestions that I found from you and when I changed the code where the php is located (only very slightly) it worked!!!! :mrgreen:

I can't thank you enough for all your help with this.

I was shocked to see that the cron job without the username and password worked fine in version 3.0.12

This is what worked for me on bluehost.com server for my cron:

Code: Select all
/usr/bin/php -q /home/***CPANELUSER***/public_html/lists/admin/index.php -pprocessqueue -c /home/***CPANELUSER***/public_html/lists/config/config.php > /home/***CPANELUSER***/public_html/lists/processqueue.log 2>&1


When the cron fired, this is what was shown in my process manager:

in my process manager on my cpanel
Code: Select all
/bin/sh -c /usr/bin/php -q /home/***CPANELUSER***/public_html/lists/admin/index.php -pprocessqueue -c /home/***CPANELUSER***/public_html/lists/config/config.php > /home/***CPANELUSER***/public_html/lists/processqueue.log 2>&1


and
Code: Select all
/usr/bin/php -q /home/***CPANELUSER***/public_html/lists/admin/index.php -pprocessqueue -c /home/***CPANELUSER***/public_html/lists/config/config.php


I will test this cron job live this Wednesday when I send out to 8000 emails, but it appears that it's working fine again, thanks a million to Dan and all the others for their great help!
Mark
:mrgreen:
A. Mark Argentino, P.Eng., Broker
http://www.mississauga4sale.com
MarkA.
PL Geek
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 1:36pm, Thu 17 Feb, 2005
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Re: PHPList Version v3.0.12 - Cron Job Not Working. HELP PLE

Postby guest » 8:18am, Thu 09 Apr, 2015

Hi Mark,

That's good to hear. My phpList is running smoothly now except for the LINK TRACKING part :D

It's weird though... my test emails using the link tracking worked fine. But I noticed in some returned emails that the actual links using this link tracking feature returned a 404 error:

Not Found
The requested document was not found on this server

Please contact the Administrator

phpList version 3.0.12


The LINK TRACKING feature might not be working properly when enabled. This might also be the reason why my phpList shows a lot of clicks but in my hit counter on a separate site shows only a few click.

Did you experience the same issue?

Thanks.
guest, working from home
http://csl.ink/cVj
guest
phpLister
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 5:07am, Sun 15 May, 2011

Re: PHPList Version v3.0.12 - Cron Job Not Working. HELP PLE

Postby MarkA. » 8:28pm, Thu 09 Apr, 2015

Hello,

When you say "Link Tracking" are you referring to URL CLICK STATISTICS or CAMPAIGN CLICK STATISTICS or the number of Views in VIEW OPENS?

I am only using Views in the View Opens for PHPList.

I use Google Analytics on some of my links within my newsletter and on the newsletter page itself.

I have 40 bounces so far from my mailing from yesterday. None of the bounces have any of the 404 errors you show below.

I checked my Google Analytics Pageviews versus PHPList Views and they are nearly the same, so far. Google Analytics is showing a little higher than the PHPList Views.

I only have about 1/2 of the views so far as the newsletter just finished sending about 2 hours ago. The numbers will populate at a high rate as people read my newsletter over the next 10 to 20 hours and then drop off over the next couple of days.

What type of percentage opens are you seeing on the PHPList views? I am seeing average of about 10 to 12%

I'll watch this for a while to see if the two page views diverge at any point.

Thanks for sharing and your insights,
Mark :mrgreen:
A. Mark Argentino, P.Eng., Broker
http://www.mississauga4sale.com
MarkA.
PL Geek
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 1:36pm, Thu 17 Feb, 2005
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Re: PHPList Version v3.0.12 - Cron Job Not Working. HELP PLE

Postby arroba1250 » 10:01pm, Sun 26 Apr, 2015

Hello:

Recently I made an upgrade to 3.0.12 and I've been trying many ways and still not working for me

Could someone help me with this?

1) First way
wget -q -O /dev/null http://lista.midominio.com/admin/index. ... pageaction"&action=processqueue&login=user&password=pass" 1>/dev/null 2>/dev/null
2) Second way
/usr/bin/php -q /var/www/http://lista.midominio.com/admin/index.php -p processqueue -c /var/www/http://lista.midominio.com/config/config.php

I'm receiving this from the cron job:

Code: Select all
Cannot load the ionCube PHP Loader - it was built with configuration 2.2.0, whereas running engine is API220100525,NTS
Zend Optimizer requires Zend Engine API version 220060519.
The Zend Engine API version 220100525 which is installed, is newer.
Contact Zend Technologies at http://www.zend.com/ for a later version of Zend Optimizer.

<br />
<b>Warning</b>:  PHP Startup: It is not safe to rely on the system's timezone settings. You are *required* to use the date.timezone setting or the date_default_timezone_set() function. In case you used any of those methods and you are still getting this warning, you most likely misspelled the timezone identifier. We selected the timezone 'UTC' for now, but please set date.timezone to select your timezone. in <b>Unknown</b> on line <b>0</b><br />
<br />
<b>Fatal error</b>:  Directive 'allow_call_time_pass_reference' is no longer available in PHP in <b>Unknown</b> on line <b>0</b><br />


3) Third way

curl http://lista.midominio.com/admin/?page= ... t=micodigo

I'm receiving this from the cron job:

Code: Select all
 % Total    % Received % Xferd  Average Speed   Time    Time     Time  Current
                                 Dload  Upload   Total   Spent    Left  Speed

  0     0    0     0    0     0      0      0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:--     0<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd" >
100  7620    0  7620    0     0   7561      0 --:--:--  0:00:01 --:--:--  7912
100  8157    0  8157    0     0   8052      0 --:--:--  0:00:01 --:--:--  8426
ier to use if you switch it on.</p></div></noscript><div ></div>

<script language="Javascript" type="text/javascript">
//<![CDATA[
if (!navigator.cookieEnabled) {
  document.writeln('<div class="error">In order to login, you need to enable cookies in your browser<\/div>');
}
//]]>
</script>
<form method="post" id="login-form" action="">
  <input type="hidden" name="page" value="processqueue" />
  <table class="loginPassUpdate" width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="2" cellspacing="0">
    <tr><td><span class="general">Name:</span></td></tr>
    <tr><td><input type="text" name="login" value="" size="30"  autofocus="autofocus" /></td></tr>    <tr><td><span class="general">Password:</span></td></tr>    <tr><td><input type="password" name="password" value="" size="30" /></td></tr>    <tr><td><input class="submit" type="submit" name="process" value="Continue" /></td></tr>  </table></form><form method="post" id="forgotpassword-form" action=""><div class="login"><p>Forgot Password? Enter your email address: </p><input type="text" name="forgotpassword" value="" size="30" />  <input class="submit" type="submit" name="process" value="Send Password" />  <div class="clear"></div></div></form>

<!---->     </div>
    </div> <!-- end #content -->

    <div id="right-bar" class="grid_4 four columns">
        <div id="context-menu" class="menutableright block">
            <h3>Navigation</h3>
            <ul class="contextmenu"><li class="shade0"><a href="./?page=home&tk=0e0fcfdcabe" title="Go to the dashboard page">Dashboard</a><br /></li><li class="shade0"><a href="./?page=about&tk=0e0fcfdcabe" title="More information about the phpList application">about phpList</a><br /></li></ul>        </div>
arroba1250
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 11:18pm, Sun 23 Feb, 2014

Re: PHPList Version v3.0.12 - Cron Job Not Working. HELP PLE

Postby danwaterloo » 12:53pm, Mon 27 Apr, 2015

Here are some ideas on what to try...
By the way, you have updated this line in your config.php file, correct?:
https://resources.phplist.com/system/my ... qli-update
Even though it is possible to re-use the old config.php, you should use the new version that came with 3.0.12, and edit it with the settings from your old config.php

#1: This may not work, in that the system uses cookies and session tokens, so you might need to provide those on the http url... (this is done by using a script to submit a url, read the cookie and session token, and then use them to construct the 'use once' url.

#2: Your a. Zend Engine (php) is out of date and needs to be updated.
b. the timezone settings between the php/apache and the database need to be updated/synced. Try loading this plugin to fix:
https://resources.phplist.com/plugin/timezone

you have a mix of 'filesystem path' and 'website path' on this... you would want to use the file system path only, for example:

/usr/bin/php -q /var/www/http://lista.midominio.com/admin/index.php -p processqueue -c /var/www/http://lista.midominio.com/config/config.php

change to:
/usr/bin/php -q /var/www/html/lists/index.php -p processqueue -c /var/www/html/lists/config/config.php

you would need to verify the /html/lists/ path, or change that to match the full file system path on your system (this is where the different hosting services vary, and it varies by the hosting service vendor, the type of computer you specify, and the type of account you have).

Here's a specific example of what works on my server:
/usr/bin/php -q /var/www/html/lists/admin/index.php -p processqueue -c /var/www/html/lists/config/config.php

#3: I see these kinds of messages when using /usr/bin/php on the commandline, but I should be using /usr/bin/php-cli
danwaterloo
PL Master
 
Posts: 276
Joined: 3:51am, Wed 30 Oct, 2013
Location: http://www.phplistsupport.com

Re: PHPList Version v3.0.12 - Cron Job Not Working. HELP PLE

Postby arroba1250 » 11:05am, Tue 28 Apr, 2015

Thank you so much Danwaterloo. Now is working with the second way using a cron job in cpanel.

I'm working with hostgator so the correct path for this server is:

Code: Select all
/usr/local/bin/php -q /home/"cpaneluser"/public_html/list/admin/index.php -p processqueue -c /home/cpaneluser/public_html/list/config/config.php


:D
arroba1250
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 11:18pm, Sun 23 Feb, 2014

Previous

Return to Questions and Problems after Installing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest