Illegal Character(s)...? Have a deadline :(

Version 3 Solutions you have discovered or come across should go here. Questions should go in the other three Version 3 forums, thank you.
Forum rules
Please do not ask questions here, this is for Version 3 Solutions you have discovered or come across.

Illegal Character(s)...? Have a deadline :(

Postby bekabug » 5:12pm, Fri 31 Jan, 2014

If I copy string after string of lipsum into the campain content area, it's fine. Save as draft works, the next buttons work, going to a different setting section works.

If I paste this text:
http://pastebin.com/iV62d9Tf

All those things previously mentioned 404. I can't save or send. I can't find the illegal characters. I've tried disabling the editor and it still doesn't work. I've never had this happen before with phpList and this mailing has to go out today by 4pm EST.
Last edited by bekabug on 5:18pm, Fri 31 Jan, 2014, edited 1 time in total.
bekabug
PL Nut
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 3:21pm, Thu 05 Apr, 2007

Re: Illegal Character(s)...? Have a deadline :(

Postby bekabug » 5:14pm, Fri 31 Jan, 2014

I copied and pasted this into WordPress and it was fine. I also fixed the pastebin link...sorry! :oops:
bekabug
PL Nut
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 3:21pm, Thu 05 Apr, 2007

Re: Illegal Character(s)...? Have a deadline :(

Postby bekabug » 5:54pm, Fri 31 Jan, 2014

ok. i copied and pasted everything one paragraph at a time. when i hit a snag, i went one LINE at a time.

It also 404s on save if I type this text content into the box so I am truly perplexed here.

It doesn't like:
Code: Select all
 Earlier analysis of NAEP data found Tennessee students had improved from 2012 to 2013 on fourth and eighth grade reading and math scores to a greater degree than any other state.


but the line immediately after that is fine. If I paste 5 paragraphs of lipsum, it's fine. :evil:
bekabug
PL Nut
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 3:21pm, Thu 05 Apr, 2007

Re: Illegal Character(s)...? Have a deadline :(

Postby bekabug » 6:06pm, Fri 31 Jan, 2014

Ok it likes all the words in that sentence up to 2012 and everything after that causes an error. In fact, it doesn't matter what I type after that, it 404s on save UNTIL I hit '.' and start a new sentence.

What in the world is going on?
bekabug
PL Nut
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 3:21pm, Thu 05 Apr, 2007

Re: Illegal Character(s)...? Have a deadline :(

Postby bekabug » 6:11pm, Fri 31 Jan, 2014

It looks like this is a bug! v3.0.5

If you type:
"from <any number>" or "graduated from West Point" it errors. SO. Fix it, please. I need a drink now.
Last edited by bekabug on 6:21pm, Fri 31 Jan, 2014, edited 1 time in total.
bekabug
PL Nut
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 3:21pm, Thu 05 Apr, 2007

Re: Illegal Character(s)...? Have a deadline :(

Postby jimlongo » 6:13pm, Fri 31 Jan, 2014

Make sure you are pasting plain text.
I usually put any text into a text editor and ensure that everything is converted to ASCII characters before pasting into PHPList compose area.
Text pasted from word, emails, and such will invariably contain hidden nastiness that will screw up your emails.

hth
jimlongo
PL Geek
 
Posts: 88
Joined: 10:10pm, Tue 15 May, 2007

Re: Illegal Character(s)...? Have a deadline :(

Postby bekabug » 6:22pm, Fri 31 Jan, 2014

It's not that. It's caused by the word from. As I said, I typed this stuff and it gave the error as well so it's not an encoding issue.
bekabug
PL Nut
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 3:21pm, Thu 05 Apr, 2007

Re: Illegal Character(s)...? Have a deadline :(

Postby jimlongo » 6:31pm, Fri 31 Jan, 2014

I'd suggest it's not from the word "from" because I sent an email last night that had that word in it and it works fine.

It's some other installation issue.
jimlongo
PL Geek
 
Posts: 88
Joined: 10:10pm, Tue 15 May, 2007

Re: Illegal Character(s)...? Have a deadline :(

Postby bekabug » 6:47pm, Fri 31 Jan, 2014

No. There's plenty of FROMs in the email body until the line I pasted. After that point, no FROMs allowed. Maybe has something to do with the dashes? I don't know.

Remove the FROMs and all is good. Really, really irritating bug.
bekabug
PL Nut
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 3:21pm, Thu 05 Apr, 2007

Re: Illegal Character(s)...? Have a deadline :(

Postby jimlongo » 7:03pm, Fri 31 Jan, 2014

yeah, I'm sure it's something else . . .
Attachments
Screen Shot 2014-01-31 at 14.06.28.png
Screen Shot 2014-01-31 at 14.06.28.png (47.48 KiB) Viewed 3725 times
jimlongo
PL Geek
 
Posts: 88
Joined: 10:10pm, Tue 15 May, 2007

Re: Illegal Character(s)...? Have a deadline :(

Postby bekabug » 8:36pm, Fri 31 Jan, 2014

Did you try sending the entire thing?

I'm curious. Can you go to the pastebin link and try sending the entire message?
bekabug
PL Nut
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 3:21pm, Thu 05 Apr, 2007

Re: Illegal Character(s)...? Have a deadline :(

Postby jimlongo » 8:44pm, Fri 31 Jan, 2014

Yes it sent me the entire email. If you pm me your email address I can send you the draft.
jimlongo
PL Geek
 
Posts: 88
Joined: 10:10pm, Tue 15 May, 2007

Re: Illegal Character(s)...? Have a deadline :(

Postby Dragonrider » 9:17pm, Fri 31 Jan, 2014

bekabug wrote:Did you try sending the entire thing?

I'm curious. Can you go to the pastebin link and try sending the entire message?

Like Jim, I've also copied and pasted your pastebin message into my phpList 3.0.5 install, it loaded in and sent correctly.

Did you paste the text into the editor WYSIWYG or the HTML Source option?
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Re: Illegal Character(s)...? Have a deadline :(

Postby bekabug » 9:23pm, Fri 31 Jan, 2014

Neither works. I've tried it with and without fcke enabled. I always mark it up in TextWrangler then paste into the source area of the editor.
bekabug
PL Nut
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 3:21pm, Thu 05 Apr, 2007

Re: Illegal Character(s)...? Have a deadline :(

Postby bekabug » 9:31pm, Fri 31 Jan, 2014

I've tried on my Mac using Chrome version 32.0.1700.102, Firefox v26. On a windows 7 computer, with IE, Firefox, & Chrome. No difference.

This is a brand new install. I did disable ModPageSpeed in the .htaccess and that made no difference.

I don't know what in my config would cause it to suddenly start hating on the word from. It's never done this before. I was literally typing one word at a time and saving between them. From is the only word it hangs on and only starting at that one line. There is a from in the very first sentence of the message that doesn't cause any problems. :/
bekabug
PL Nut
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 3:21pm, Thu 05 Apr, 2007

Next

Return to Answers, HowTos, Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest