Page 1 of 1

How do I add to a list and not send to the whole list

PostPosted: 2:08pm, Mon 07 Oct, 2013
by jaycova
All

I am new to phplist.

I have installed it and I have a very large list to send but don't want to send it all at once. How do I add names to a campaign without sending it to ones I just sent to?

Re: How do I add to a list and not send to the whole list

PostPosted: 3:23pm, Mon 07 Oct, 2013
by Dragonrider
phpList does not send to addresses that a list/campaign/message has already been sent to, though if you send the same message to different lists at different times, it will be sent to all users even if they are the same, just subscribed to different lists.

Re: How do I add to a list and not send to the whole list

PostPosted: 3:43pm, Mon 07 Oct, 2013
by jaycova
Dragonrider

Thanks but I want to make sure I understand what you are saying.

I have already sent a campaign lets call it "Letter from CEO".
Now I want to send that same Campaign to another demographic area and I load 1000 contacts to the same campaign and list. and phplist will only send to the new contacts?

Re: How do I add to a list and not send to the whole list

PostPosted: 4:00pm, Mon 07 Oct, 2013
by Dragonrider
If you have sent campaign "Letter from CEO" to all users on your list, then you add another 1,000 users to the same list, all opted in we hope, and then re-send Letter from CEO campaign, only the new users should receive the message.

Re: How do I add to a list and not send to the whole list

PostPosted: 4:04pm, Mon 07 Oct, 2013
by jaycova
Yes all have opted in and I also reminded them of that and that they can opt out at anytime.
I am in the process of updating and trying to get people to update their information.

I have the rules printed on my desk as a reminded to use safe emailing

Re: How do I add to a list and not send to the whole list

PostPosted: 5:06pm, Mon 07 Oct, 2013
by Dragonrider
Great stuff, normally phpList won't re-send a message to people on the list who have already received it, the caveat was there because we don't know if you made any changed to the original code.