Search and Add

Questions about Version 3 phpList features (the answer is probably 'Yes!')
Forum rules
Please help the volunteers to help you by supplying the version of phpList you are using, browser & version and if possible, a link to your phpList installation.

Search and Add

Postby Joebob1 » 2:52am, Fri 24 Oct, 2014

Situation:

Subscribers have been added in bulk but only about 1k

Goal: Add specific subs to a various lists based on attribute, like age

I can search the users and get who I want but how do I get them in the list as a group instead of going to detail page of result set users and adding them from the lists tab?

THANKS!
Joebob1
phpLister
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 4:18am, Wed 12 Dec, 2007

Re: Search and Add

Postby duncanc » 8:43am, Fri 24 Oct, 2014

phplist doesn't help you with this. It will be easier to segregate the subscribers in a spreadsheet and then import each group into its own list.

But I wonder why you need to do this at all. If you want to send a campaign to a subset of subscribers based on an attribute value then the Segment plugin helps with that. see http://forums.phplist.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=41650.
duncanc
Moderator
 
Posts: 2440
Joined: 6:34am, Sat 08 May, 2010
Location: London

Re: Search and Add

Postby Joebob1 » 6:41pm, Fri 24 Oct, 2014

I have tried the Segment plugin, it does not seem to work in all of the handful of cases I have tried hence the question.

For example, I am getting only one matching result when using calculate when there are two subs that match the criteria and they are both active and NOT blacklisted.
Joebob1
phpLister
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 4:18am, Wed 12 Dec, 2007

Re: Search and Add

Postby duncanc » 7:01pm, Fri 24 Oct, 2014

There are other conditions that you might not be taking into account.
The subscribers have to belong to the lists selected on the Lists tab, not belong to excluded lists (if you are using that feature), and must not have already been sent the message.
Does that add-up now?
duncanc
Moderator
 
Posts: 2440
Joined: 6:34am, Sat 08 May, 2010
Location: London

Re: Search and Add

Postby Joebob1 » 7:18pm, Fri 24 Oct, 2014

First of all thanks for the replies.

Second, I am getting the expected results now.

I do not have any excluded lists;
All lists were selected;
User not getting returned by calculate was a member of all lists;

Summary of the END:
I went field by field comparing the two records in phpMyAdmin.
After updating a couple fields to the same as the record being returned by Segment I retried calculate. No change until after I changed pass and passupdated to NULL and changed the create date ('entered') to a datestamp 1 unit from the record being returned.

Restarted the campaign again and boom, working.
Joebob1
phpLister
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 4:18am, Wed 12 Dec, 2007


Return to Does phpList do this?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests