500 Server Error

Start here! No need to ask twice :)

Re: I have seen this ERROR 500 many times

Postby Dragonrider » 9:30am, Fri 18 Apr, 2008

php_freelancer wrote:I have seen this ERROR 500 many times. Sometimes for proper HTACCESS code. I think that sites dont allow those HTACCESS


That's not quite right.

I fear that free hosts, geocities and such like, do not allow htaccess files, but others do and yet you can still suffer from the dreaded 500 error.

This can be traced to the fact that these hosts allow htaccess files, BUT they do not allow php_flag statements within them.

To get around this issue, you need to take the php_flag line out, resave the htaccess file, then add to or create a fresh php.ini file with the php_flag statement in it, BUT without the php_flag prefix.

Save this php.ini file into the root folder of your phplist installation.
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Postby Guest » 7:21am, Tue 12 Aug, 2008

I also got that Fatal Error, does anybody know the solution of this error???
Guest
 

Postby Dragonrider » 11:37am, Tue 12 Aug, 2008

Aqeel wrote:I also got that Fatal Error, does anybody know the solution of this error???


What, the 500 error? Look in your lists/.htaccess file and comment out the php_flag line (#php_flag....)

Then resave the .htaccess file.
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Postby Guest » 4:19pm, Wed 20 Aug, 2008

isn't it dangerous to have the permissions to 777?

I tried it on my site, but i had to undo phplist and i'm gonna try again soon
Guest
 

Postby Dragonrider » 5:38pm, Wed 20 Aug, 2008

aviaf wrote:isn't it dangerous to have the permissions to 777?

I tried it on my site, but i had to undo phplist and i'm gonna try again soon


YES!

Folders 755, files 644 though you may need to set config/config.php to 666 whilst you update it, if necessary, then restore to 644.
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

processqueue 500 Server error

Postby Bered » 4:04pm, Thu 21 Aug, 2008

Im getting this error (500 Internal Server Error)when I run the processqueue :( I made the changes on the .htacces comenting the php_flag line,I also tried deleting it but it keeps appearing... and something strange is that it seems to send some of the messages and then it stops, I know this because I tested it on the varous emails I have.
If anyone knows anything let me know, thanks.
Bered
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 3:38pm, Fri 22 Feb, 2008

Postby Guest » 7:26am, Sun 31 Aug, 2008

the server at Amalaki said error 513 and said unkown flag error
Guest
 

Postby Dragonrider » 7:57am, Sun 31 Aug, 2008

amalaki: Don;t know what a 513 error means but your error text suggests to me it is down to the php_flag line in the phpList .htaccess file.

Try adding a "#" before the php_flag and resave .htaccess and see if that clears the error.
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Postby nymisoa » 3:28pm, Wed 29 Oct, 2008

I wrestled with the 2.10.7 update for a couple of hours. For some reason, my files uploaded with 664 permissions and the folders uploaded with 775 permissions. If you're on a shared server, an index.php file with 664 permissions can spit an Internal Server Error 500. I changed the index.php file in the root and the admin/index.php file to 644 and all was well again. Then I went back and changed all my files to 644 and folders to 755 just in case.

I have no idea why the base permissions were set to 664/775 when I downloaded from SF but I tweaked my FTP program settings to override the base settings to 644/755 so I don't have to go through that pain again.
nymisoa
PL Nut
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 2:39pm, Thu 07 Dec, 2006

Need Help

Postby Alesio » 8:39am, Thu 05 Feb, 2009

Hello,i have this problem with PHPList regarding the Internal Server Error 500.

My host is godaddy and i have a deluxe shared linux account and the last version available of PhpList.Any advices please?I have read the oold topics with this problema but i still didn't managed to solve this.Thank you!
Alesio
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 8:28am, Thu 05 Feb, 2009

Postby Learner » 1:02pm, Tue 24 Mar, 2009

Sorry for my english.

I've installed phplist with the help of Fantastico (cPanel) but when I try to enter :
h t t p :// miwebsite . com /phplist)
The error log shows:
Code: Select all

[Tue Mar 24 07:28:55 2009] [error] [client ***] File does not exist: /home/miweb/public_html/new/500.shtml
[Tue Mar 24 07:28:55 2009] [alert] [client ***] /home/miweb/public_html/phplist/.htaccess: Invalid command 'php_flag', perhaps mis-spelled or defined by a module not included in the server configuration



Then, I remove "php_flag magic_quotes_gpc on" from .htaccess :
Code: Select all
DirectoryIndex index.php

<FilesMatch>
Order allow,deny
deny from all
</FilesMatch>
<FilesMatch>
Order allow,deny
allow from all
</FilesMatch>
#php_flag magic_quotes_gpc on


Now, no errors appear in the log but I can't access:

HTTP Status 404 - /new/phplist/

type Status report

message /new/phplist/

description The requested resource (/new/phplist/) is not available.
Apache Tomcat/5.5.9


I don't know what's the problem

Help please.
Thanks
Learner
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 12:33pm, Tue 24 Mar, 2009

Postby Dragonrider » 1:04pm, Tue 24 Mar, 2009

give me a link to your installation and I'll see what I can see if you like?
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Postby Diar » 9:30am, Wed 25 Mar, 2009

Learner wrote:I've installed phplist with the help of Fantastico (cPanel) but when I try to enter :
h t t p :// miwebsite . com /phplist)

Learner wrote:Now, no errors appear in the log but I can't access:
HTTP Status 404 - /new/phplist/

type Status report

message /new/phplist/

description The requested resource (/new/phplist/) is not available.
Apache Tomcat/5.5.9
I don't know what's the problem
Help please.
Thanks


It can't find "yourdomain . com /new/phplist" this is, in my view, probably caused by the fact you didn't install it in /new/phplist to begin with. :)

As I gather from your information, you have to go to yourdomain . com /phplist/admin

Good luck :)
Diar
PL Nut
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 1:16pm, Fri 06 Mar, 2009
Location: Holland ^_^

Re: 500 Server Error

Postby shpoffo » 7:00pm, Mon 08 Jun, 2009

I'm having a related problem, and thought I'd share what I've learned, and see if someone can shed any light.

My host runs PHP as a CGI as well, so I had to comment-out the line "php_flag magic_quotes_gpc on" from my .htaccess file. This solved the 500 error, but arose another problem; When I go to /lists/admin/ to setup my installation, a blank page renders. The source code shows only:

<!-- using ../config/config.php -->

That smells like something amiss in the config.php file, but I've confirmed that the login and database info is correct. Does anyone know if there are other restrictions on what is done in that file?

I'm wondering if it is a failure with another setting after the database, like the mail handling. I'm rather at a loss on what is dying, since this is pre-configuration, and everything is supposed to be auto-magical at this point. Anyone with insight?

Much thanks,
shpoffo
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 0
Joined: 6:32pm, Mon 08 Jun, 2009

Re: 500 Server Error

Postby H2B2 » 11:40pm, Mon 08 Jun, 2009

Did you check your config.php file for typos? These may generate parse errors which in turn produce a blank page. See the troubleshooting doc for more info.

ref: http://docs.phplist.com/PhplistTroubleshooting
H2B2
Moderator
 
Posts: 7188
Joined: 1:51am, Wed 15 Mar, 2006

PreviousNext

Return to Frequently Asked Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests