Fatal Error: Cannot connect to database, access denied.

Start here! No need to ask twice :)

Postby Hernol » 3:56pm, Mon 10 Jul, 2006

No, the tables are created when you go to lists/admin and click on "initialise database". Have you check that your db name in your config file is the same to the one you see in phpmyadmin?
Hernol
Admin
 
Posts: 1378
Joined: 6:39pm, Thu 18 May, 2006
Location: Argentina

Postby jessejenifer » 4:24pm, Mon 10 Jul, 2006

i deleted everything (the database, and the /lists/ files) and started over. I stil get the same error?
"Fatal Error: unknown database, cannot continue"

please advise. thanks
jessejenifer
phpLister
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 3:36pm, Mon 10 Jul, 2006

Postby jessejenifer » 4:30pm, Mon 10 Jul, 2006

wow, it works now... thanks...sorry for the headache
jessejenifer
phpLister
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 3:36pm, Mon 10 Jul, 2006

Postby angelischarmed » 4:56pm, Tue 11 Jul, 2006

Hi, I am getting this same error and haven't changed anything in any of the files or anything. I was able to log in 2 days ago with no problem and than yesterday noticed this error

"Fatal Error: Cannot connect to database, access denied. Please contact the administrator"

I wouldn't even know where to begin to change anything, passwords, paths or anything like that. As you can tell I don't know much besides logging into my php account.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Kelli
angelischarmed
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 4:50pm, Tue 11 Jul, 2006

Postby Hernol » 5:04pm, Tue 11 Jul, 2006

Something's change in your db or config.php file, you should check both and see if the values are the same. If you can not access to your db tell this to your administrator.
Hernol
Admin
 
Posts: 1378
Joined: 6:39pm, Thu 18 May, 2006
Location: Argentina

Postby angelischarmed » 5:21pm, Tue 11 Jul, 2006

again please excuse the stupidness to these questions, I have a reseller account with hostgator but it's only to host all of my own sites. Since I know that I haven't changed anything in any of those files am I supposed to contact them than? I can get into the config through my cpanel but again I never changed anything through there.

Thanks again
Kelli
angelischarmed
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 4:50pm, Tue 11 Jul, 2006

Postby Hernol » 5:27pm, Tue 11 Jul, 2006

Yes, contact them and ask for a solution.
Hernol
Admin
 
Posts: 1378
Joined: 6:39pm, Thu 18 May, 2006
Location: Argentina

Same Problem with My SQL V5 database

Postby dkatzman » 7:21pm, Thu 12 Apr, 2007

Hi,

I'm having the same problem with my first access:

Fatal Error: unknown database, cannot continue

I tripled-checked my database login information and can't find any errors...

Can anyone help? Should I delete the database and install V4 instead?

Thanks!
dkatzman
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 7:14pm, Thu 12 Apr, 2007

Postby bmint » 9:45am, Mon 08 Sep, 2008

It's been doing my head in! I think I had a similar problem as well. I will keep a eye on this thread.
bmint
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 4:40pm, Wed 16 Jul, 2008

Re: Same Problem with My SQL V5 database

Postby Dragonrider » 10:46am, Mon 08 Sep, 2008

dkatzman wrote:Hi,

I'm having the same problem with my first access:

Fatal Error: unknown database, cannot continue

I tripled-checked my database login information and can't find any errors...

Can anyone help? Should I delete the database and install V4 instead?

Thanks!

Might be a case that your host has an issue with, or has changed the database server?
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Cannot connect to database, Sql server is not running

Postby Guest » 6:00pm, Tue 16 Sep, 2008

hello,
i do have a similar error message:

Fatal Error: Cannot connect to database, Sql server is not running. Please contact the administrator

how to get the Sql running?

(please be patient, i am only a graphic designer who does a little of programming sometimes…)

thank you.
Guest
 

Re: Cannot connect to database, Sql server is not running

Postby Dragonrider » 6:19pm, Tue 16 Sep, 2008

cortazar wrote:hello,
i do have a similar error message:

Fatal Error: Cannot connect to database, Sql server is not running. Please contact the administrator

how to get the Sql running?

(please be patient, i am only a graphic designer who does a little of programming sometimes…)

thank you.

Contact your host, sounds like a problem for their support staff to fix.
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Postby Guest » 1:09am, Tue 06 Jan, 2009

same problem was giving me headache for last couple of days .
Guest
 

Re: Fatal Error: Cannot connect to database, access denied.

Postby mikekehrli » 7:25pm, Tue 15 Sep, 2009

I get this message: "Fatal Error: Cannot connect to database, access denied. Please contact the administrator ". I can't seem to get beyond this impasse.

I am relatively familiar with setting up php systems. I have several sophisticated php systems running currently. I've never had trouble creating and connecting to databases before. I have a linux host php version 5.2.10 and MySql version 5.0.67. I created the database and named it SysPrefix_phpLists. I used an existing user name, but gave it full permissions for the new db. I've double checked that the db name and user name are spelled correctly. Below is the db section from my phpList config.php:

# what is your Mysql database server
$database_host = "localhost";

# what is the name of the database we are using
$database_name = "SysPrefix_phpLists";

# who do we log in as?
$database_user = "SysPrefix_admin";

# and what password do we use
$database_password = 'xxxxxxxxxx';

Here is the setup from another (working) php appication for comparison:
// define our database connection
define('DB_TYPE', 'mysql');
define('DB_PREFIX', '');
define('DB_SERVER', 'localhost');
define('DB_SERVER_USERNAME', 'SysPrefix_admin');
define('DB_SERVER_PASSWORD', 'xxxxxxxxxx');
define('DB_DATABASE', 'SysPrefix_forum');
define('USE_PCONNECT', 'false');
define('STORE_SESSIONS', 'db');
mikekehrli
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 0
Joined: 7:06pm, Tue 15 Sep, 2009

Re: Fatal Error: Cannot connect to database, access denied.

Postby mikekehrli » 4:58pm, Wed 16 Sep, 2009

OMG!

I take it all back. My changes to config.php were not getting updated to the host. Ok, I'm resolved now. Sorry.
mikekehrli
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 0
Joined: 7:06pm, Tue 15 Sep, 2009

PreviousNext

Return to Frequently Asked Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests