getting phplist to recognize qmail bounces [solved]

Solutions for other phpList version 2 users
Forum rules
Please do not ask questions here, this is for Solutions you have discovered or come across.

getting phplist to recognize qmail bounces [solved]

Postby accoladearts » 4:29pm, Sat 02 Feb, 2008

Hi all,

I'm new to phplist and the forums, and I have to say that I've got quite far along with just the phplist documentation and forum postings! I do have one situation now with a new installation that is frustrating to no end, hope that someone can help out.

I'm running two different installations of phplist, one of which is using qmail as the MTA. Both are running fine, except that the qmail-generated bounces it will not flag as legitimate bounces within phplist... the bounce queue runs and deletes everything in the inbox. On the other hand, my non-qmail installation recognizes the same bounces just fine and handles them correctly.

Opening up the source of the bounce emails, I noticed that the successful bounces (which employ Exim) include headers such as "X-Recipient-Failed". The qmail bounces don't include this information, but stick to the QSBMF protocol which tag the failed recipient in the first line of the message body between two brackets "<" and ">".

I've pulled apart processbounces.php and searched all over for someone having faced a similar problem, and am coming up blank. I'll include snippets of the successful and failed bounces below, perhaps someone will know how to tweak the processbounces script (or qmail!) to get this working right:

Successful bounce recognition: header
Return-path: <>
Envelope-to: bounce@accoladearts.net
Delivery-date: Sat, 02 Feb 2008 00:45:28 -0500
Received: from mailnull by [mailserver].com with local [Exim 4.68]
id 1JLBBw-0004TM-9p
for bounce@accoladearts.net; Sat, 02 Feb 2008 00:45:28 -0500
X-Failed-Recipients: i.m.fake@dfeok093doo09d.com
Auto-Submitted: auto-replied
To: bounce@accoladearts.net