[how to] put a subscribe form on one of my website pages

Solutions for other phpList version 2 users
Forum rules
Please do not ask questions here, this is for Solutions you have discovered or come across.

I think I am having a "moment" but

Postby Guest » 9:27am, Fri 28 Dec, 2007

In an earlier post by H2B2

"First of all, the confirmation page:

Open the file /lists/index.php at line: 531 (remove the dots in the html tags)"

What does the (remove the dots in the html tags) mean exactly.

Yup I am having a true moment.

Warmest Regards,

MagickWolf
Guest
 

Re: I think I am having a "moment" but

Postby Ernesto » 10:43pm, Tue 01 Jan, 2008

magickwolf78 wrote:What does the (remove the dots in the html tags) mean exactly.
In post http://forums.phplist.com/viewtopic.php?p=37348#37348 H2B2 is citing spamcollect. Spamcollect apparently wasn't aware you have to click on "Disable HTML in this post" to fully display HTML tags in forum posts. So, he probably inserted some periods ("dots") in the HTML tags just to get them displayed in his post. You need to remove these "dots" from his code in order to get a working code.
Ernesto
PL Freak!
 
Posts: 592
Joined: 2:25am, Thu 08 Jun, 2006

Postby vade » 2:38am, Wed 06 Feb, 2008

Hi,

I can't seem to get my custom subscribe page to work. I've followed all the instructions, but when I click on subscribe, it just brings me to the default subscribe page.

Appreciate any help. Thanks.
vade
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2:17am, Wed 06 Feb, 2008

Postby vade » 3:27am, Wed 06 Feb, 2008

this is my form:

<form method="post" action="h t t p://mydomain/lists/?p=subscribe" name="subscribeform">
Email: <input type="text" name="email" value="" size="40" />
<script language="Javascript" type="text/javascript">addFieldToCheck("email","Email");</script>
<input type="hidden" name="htmlemail" value="1" />
<input type="hidden" name="list[1]" value="signup" />
<input type="submit" name="Submit" value="Subscribe" onClick="return checkform();" />
</form>

my custom subscribe page is at w w w . s p u r s - s g . o r g / m a i l i n g _ l i s t . h t m l

my original subscribe page is at w w w . s p u r s - s g . o r g / l i s t s / ? p = s u b s c r i b e & i d = 1
vade
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2:17am, Wed 06 Feb, 2008

Postby H2B2 » 11:32pm, Wed 06 Feb, 2008

vade wrote:I can't seem to get my custom subscribe page to work. I've followed all the instructions, but when I click on subscribe, it just brings me to the default subscribe page.
Just tested your custom form, and it appears to work fine.
H2B2
Moderator
 
Posts: 7188
Joined: 1:51am, Wed 15 Mar, 2006

Signup Page on Myspace

Postby stefanthedj » 6:00am, Wed 13 Feb, 2008

What code do I need to be able to add a signup form to my myspace page?
stefanthedj
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 5:43am, Wed 13 Feb, 2008

Postby H2B2 » 12:52am, Sat 16 Feb, 2008

It seems to me your question is addressed in this same thread, and in the docs: http://docs.phplist.com/CustomSubscribeForm
H2B2
Moderator
 
Posts: 7188
Joined: 1:51am, Wed 15 Mar, 2006

Firefox x Internet Explorer

Postby leozeferino » 11:00pm, Wed 27 Feb, 2008

Hello,


I putted the code in my form and if I use the Firefox's browser, the code functions normally. But, if I use the Internet Explorer's browser, when I click "Send", they go to the page that I created in my admin. Why? What am I doing wrong?

The page to test is w w w . r e v i s t a j u s t i t i a . c o m . b r / l i n k s / n e w s l e t t e r . p h p

Thanks!
leozeferino
phpLister
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 5:41pm, Sat 16 Feb, 2008

Postby e9 » 3:29am, Thu 28 Feb, 2008

first off, gotta say PHPlist rocks!

I am trying to use Curl to post directly to phplist from a registration page on my site...question, there is a text field is on my subscribe page(see signature) whose name ="VerificationCodeX" and has value=""

what should be the value of this text field(which i can't even see on the page..the only text field i see is the email one
e9
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 1:05pm, Sat 04 Aug, 2007

Re: Firefox x Internet Explorer

Postby H2B2 » 7:05am, Fri 29 Feb, 2008

leozeferino wrote:I putted the code in my form and if I use the Firefox's browser, the code functions normally. But, if I use the Internet Explorer's browser, when I click "Send", they go to the page that I created in my admin. Why? What am I doing wrong?
The phplist generated form code is HTML 4.01 Transitional. If you use another "doc type" in your custom page -like XHTML 1.0 Strict for instance- review the code to make sure it is compliant with your doc type.
H2B2
Moderator
 
Posts: 7188
Joined: 1:51am, Wed 15 Mar, 2006

Postby H2B2 » 7:08am, Fri 29 Feb, 2008

e9 wrote:there is a text field is on my subscribe page(see signature) whose name ="VerificationCodeX" and has value=""

what should be the value of this text field
I don't think it needs to have any value.
H2B2
Moderator
 
Posts: 7188
Joined: 1:51am, Wed 15 Mar, 2006

Re: Firefox x Internet Explorer

Postby leozeferino » 6:49pm, Sat 01 Mar, 2008

H2B2 wrote: The phplist generated form code is HTML 4.01 Transitional. If you use another "doc type" in your custom page -like XHTML 1.0 Strict for instance- review the code to make sure it is compliant with your doc type.


Hello H2B2!

I putted my page in HTML 4.01 Transitional but the error is the same. In Firefox, function normally, but in IE the page /lists/?p=subscribe opens. Why?


Thanks!
leozeferino
phpLister
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 5:41pm, Sat 16 Feb, 2008

where is the subdirectory "/lists" its not on my

Postby Jannette » 6:56am, Tue 04 Mar, 2008

Thank you for helping with this.

I'm trying to create a subscribe page on my website. I've created a subscribe from using the phplist admin page "subscribe pages". But I want to use one directly on my website.

I've tried so many different things that I've confused myself completely.

I keep getting and have only ever got a "The webpage cannot be found" page. I had a look at the directories and I can't find the subdirectory "/lists".

Its not in the directory "mail" and nor is it in any other directory on the server. I've sent out a newsletter and it worked so I don't know what...

Help PLEASE (sorry for shouting) - I've looked thru the forums for hours and can't find anything.

I copied the code from the beginning of this thread
and based everything from there.

Any ideas?
Thanks
Jannette
phpLister
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 6:02am, Tue 04 Mar, 2008
Location: Australia

I've got it

Postby Jannette » 9:26am, Tue 04 Mar, 2008

Here's the code I used...
Code: Select all
<script>
var fieldstocheck = new Array();
fieldnames = new Array();
function checkform() {
for (i=0;i<fieldstocheck.length;i++) {
if (eval("document.subscribeform.elements['"+fieldstocheck[i]+"'].value") == "") {
alert("Please enter your "+fieldnames[i]);
eval("document.subscribeform.elements['"+fieldstocheck[i]+"'].focus()");
return false;
}
}
return true;
}
function addFieldToCheck(value,name) {
fieldstocheck[fieldstocheck.length] = value;
fieldnames[fieldnames.length] = name;
}
</script>
<form>
<input><br>
<script>addFieldToCheck("email","Email Address");</script>
<input>
<center><input></center>
</form>

The difference was the subdirectory after "http://www.domainname.com.au/MAIL/"... I have the subdirectory of mail (not list), so there you have it.
that simple and hours and hours later finally get it to work.

Thanks
Jannette
phpLister
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 6:02am, Tue 04 Mar, 2008
Location: Australia

Re: I've got it

Postby H2B2 » 11:24pm, Tue 04 Mar, 2008

Jannette wrote:so there you have it.
that simple and hours and hours later finally get it to work.
Glad you fixed it. Those small details are often difficult to find. :wink:
H2B2
Moderator
 
Posts: 7188
Joined: 1:51am, Wed 15 Mar, 2006

PreviousNext

Return to Answers, Howtos, Tips & Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest