list Subscribe in a Joomla Module?

Solutions for other phpList version 2 users
Forum rules
Please do not ask questions here, this is for Solutions you have discovered or come across.

list Subscribe in a Joomla Module?

Postby emfglobal » 1:36pm, Wed 18 Apr, 2007

Hi there,

Anyone know how to put the subscribe form into a Joomla module?
emfglobal
phpLister
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 1:17pm, Wed 18 Apr, 2007

Postby gasoline » 3:10pm, Wed 18 Apr, 2007

Just like you insert it in a 'standard' website. Except you make a module.

There is a 'commercial' extension. They did it for you: CLICK
gasoline
PL Nut
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 5:18pm, Sun 03 Dec, 2006

incorrect info

Postby emfglobal » 11:03am, Thu 19 Apr, 2007

gasoline wrote:Just like you insert it in a 'standard' website. Except you make a module.

There is a 'commercial' extension. They did it for you:


No, this is not correct. This addon is only for importing users from Joomla to PHPlist, not for use inside Joomla.

Is there anyone out there that could help??
emfglobal
phpLister
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 1:17pm, Wed 18 Apr, 2007

Postby Dragonrider » 12:01pm, Thu 19 Apr, 2007

I've got phpList running in a couple of my Joomla sites, but not as a module, but as content which is then called via the Menu Wrapper function, is that what you are after?

You may view the result here.
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Postby emfglobal » 1:36pm, Thu 19 Apr, 2007

Dragonrider wrote:I've got phpList running in a couple of my Joomla sites, but not as a module, but as content which is then called via the Menu Wrapper function, is that what you are after?

You may view the result
.


Like what you have done, I've done the same thing with mine. (Can't post the site, it will not let me yet...)

But it would be nice to be able to use it as a module instead of using the wrapper. I see this as a teperary solution.
emfglobal
phpLister
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 1:17pm, Wed 18 Apr, 2007

Postby gasoline » 2:10pm, Thu 19 Apr, 2007

You can make yourself a new SITEMODULE and place it wherever you like.

Or am I missing something here?
gasoline
PL Nut
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 5:18pm, Sun 03 Dec, 2006

Postby emfglobal » 2:23pm, Thu 19 Apr, 2007

gasoline wrote:You can make yourself a new SITEMODULE and place it wherever you like.

Or am I missing something here?


Yes, you are. For one, the code needs a script to run, but you must first seperate the script from the fields code. Joomla is otherwise unable to translate.

Also you cannot enter javascript code into a joomla module, this would have to be custom built

I will see what I can do, maybe I'll get one built.

E
emfglobal
phpLister
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 1:17pm, Wed 18 Apr, 2007

Postby Dragonrider » 7:44pm, Thu 19 Apr, 2007

emfglobal wrote:
Like what you have done, I've done the same thing with mine. (Can't post the site, it will not let me yet...)

But it would be nice to be able to use it as a module instead of using the wrapper. I see this as a teperary solution.

I can see your site from your profile WWW link, so which page/folder would I be looking for please?

As for posting the site itself, the forum will shortly allow you to post your url. I know the spammers seem able to defeat the forum protection, but that really helps delete the spam posts as these are often single posts from new users who should not be able to post links, so if there are links visible in a new user's post, it's 95% sure it's spam! Make them so easy to spot! :lol:
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Postby musikkuss » 8:41am, Thu 26 Apr, 2007

emfglobal wrote:I will see what I can do, maybe I'll get one built.


did you get one build?
musikkuss
phpLister
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 3:24pm, Fri 09 Feb, 2007

iClude

Postby Norbert » 11:38am, Sun 13 May, 2007

There's a module called iClude.
With this module you can link to external HTML-sites.
I have built a subscription form und integrated it in joomla via iClude.
Greetings
Norbert
Norbert
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 11:35am, Sun 13 May, 2007

easy integration

Postby joomvan » 4:03am, Tue 30 Oct, 2007

For anyone trying to ACcomplish this, The best way to use PHPlist in Joomla is by using phplist registration component and phplist subscriber module from Joomclub. Look it up in Google as I can't post an address here.

Good Luck.
joomvan
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 8:30am, Tue 23 Oct, 2007

Postby joomvan » 4:04am, Tue 30 Oct, 2007

joomclub.com that's the address to get the extensions to integrate phplist with Joomla. and They're free!.
joomvan
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 8:30am, Tue 23 Oct, 2007

Postby Dragonrider » 1:52pm, Tue 30 Oct, 2007

joomvan wrote:joomclub.com that's the address to get the extensions to integrate phplist with Joomla. and They're free!.


Have had a look at this, and it works! However, it's new and there is a bugs that the developer is aware of, if an existing email signs up, they get both the error "email in use" AND the "Success" message.

Other than that, it's fairly straightforward to set up, I managed to mix up the actual path I needed to use and the module does seem to assume your phpList installation is at phplist/lists/ and that is hard coded in.

Something I would like to see if this gets further developement is the option to have more than one list available for selecting, but it's a great way to impliment phpList within Joomla, and it seems to work with Community Builder login too. Though it does not register a phpLister as a Joomla site user, which is something I don't want on the site I've been testing it on.
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Postby thongta » 1:29am, Mon 10 Nov, 2008

Hi guys, there is a new solution for joomla 1.5 on joomla extensions directory.

Take a look at my signature for more information.

Cheers
thongta
PL Nut
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 3:19pm, Mon 06 Mar, 2006


Return to Answers, Howtos, Tips & Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests