[plugin] Hack-Free Autoresponder plugin

3rd party code for phpList

[plugin] Hack-Free Autoresponder plugin

Postby bfcam » 5:43pm, Sat 09 Feb, 2013

Moderator note:
See this topic for a phplist 3 version of the plugin http://forums.phplist.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=39901

After trying the available autoresponder hacks out there and having them fail miserably (i.e. losing thousands of
subscribers due to mass spamming of emails), I decided to just write my own cleaner solution. This autoresponder is IMO the cleanest solution available for phplist and uses no phplist hacks--it installs as a simple phplist plugin--just unpackage and go.

One of the nicest benefits of the plugin is that I reused phplist's message queuing system--autoresponders are setup as draft messages and are sent by the regular old call to processqueue--so all of the regular processqueue features work as well--including batching.

Works with phplist 2.10--tested on 2.10.18.

I wrote a blog post on my site about the plugin and have made it available for free there. It is licensed GPLv3.

http://brightflock.com/phplist-autoresponder

I would appreciate feedback, bug reports and donations to continue the development of the plugin if people find it useful. Again, visit http://brightflock.com/phplist-autoresponder for more info.

Development was sponsored by Brightflock.

Thank you.
bfcam
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 5:32pm, Sat 09 Feb, 2013

Re: [plugin] Hack-Free Autoresponder plugin

Postby jwgrafflin » 2:18am, Sat 30 Mar, 2013

Best I can tell, there is one little tidbit missing from setup instructions. It seems there should be something like the following placed in the admin/plugins/ so that autoresponder will show up in phplist admin console:

Code: Select all
<?php
class autoresponder extends phplistPlugin {
  var $name = "Autoresponder";
  var $coderoot = "plugins/Autoresponder/";

  function helloworld() {
  }

  function adminmenu() {
    return array(
      "main" => "Autoresponder"
    );
  }

}
?>


The above does not work because I can't seem to figure out exactly what needs to be there, but it is very similar to the two files that are already there for sidebar and hello world.
jwgrafflin
PL Nut
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 12:48pm, Mon 02 Jul, 2007
Location: Texas, USA

Re: [plugin] Hack-Free Autoresponder plugin

Postby Dragonrider » 8:18am, Sat 30 Mar, 2013

jwgrafflin wrote:Best I can tell, there is one little tidbit missing from setup instructions. It seems there should be something like the following placed in the admin/plugins/ so that autoresponder will show up in phplist admin console:

I found that as well, BUT my install on which I tested this plugin didn't have the helloworld plugin showing either.

I just needed to change the default plugin directory in the config.php file like this:
Code: Select all
#define("PLUGIN_ROOTDIR","/home/me/phplistplugins");

# uncomment this one to see the examples in the system (and then comment the
# one above)
define("PLUGIN_ROOTDIR","plugins");


Then it showed all my plugins.
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Re: [plugin] Hack-Free Autoresponder plugin

Postby Dragonrider » 8:47am, Sat 30 Mar, 2013

Question for bfcam, in the help text you mention key=mykey, what's that please? Is it the id of the message or something else?

Also, I'm using 2.10.19 and when I clicked on Send the Autorespond message, it resulted in an error that threw me out of my test phpList, I assume the link was not found, any suggestions please?
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Re: [plugin] Hack-Free Autoresponder plugin

Postby mustaine » 3:39pm, Tue 30 Apr, 2013

I'm not exactly sure if this is what you are referring to, but under the Util.php file, on line 50, the path is set to "/admin/". I changed it to "/list/admin/" and it fixed my 404 errors. (change list to whatever you phplist folder directory is)

Code: Select all
    public static function pluginPathURL($name) {
         // XXX-CL we assume a relative plugin root dir
        return '/list/admin/' . PLUGIN_ROOTDIR . '/' . $name;
    }
mustaine
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 8:39am, Sun 28 Apr, 2013

Re: [plugin] Hack-Free Autoresponder plugin

Postby Dragonrider » 4:26pm, Sun 12 May, 2013

mustaine wrote:I'm not exactly sure if this is what you are referring to, but under the Util.php file, on line 50, the path is set to "/admin/". I changed it to "/list/admin/" and it fixed my 404 errors. (change list to whatever you phplist folder directory is)

Code: Select all
    public static function pluginPathURL($name) {
         // XXX-CL we assume a relative plugin root dir
        return '/list/admin/' . PLUGIN_ROOTDIR . '/' . $name;
    }

Thanks for the mustaine, that fixed my error 404 issue, but it didn't work for me, just ended up with a blank page
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Re: [plugin] Hack-Free Autoresponder plugin

Postby lgaetz » 1:30am, Sat 24 Aug, 2013

I am a new phpList user running 3.0.2. Before I even try this plugin, is there any chance at all it will work with ver. 3.x?
lgaetz
phpLister
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 1:51pm, Thu 22 Aug, 2013

Re: [plugin] Hack-Free Autoresponder plugin

Postby JerryHiggins » 3:32pm, Tue 29 Oct, 2013

I've got the Brightflock Autoresponder Plugin installed on phplist 3.0.5

It installed with no issues and I was able to set up an autoresponder sequence with campaigns saved as drafts and made sure to specify a list.

It's NOT sending out any AR sequences.

I've double checked my cron job settings and even modified the path on line 50 of Utl.php to include the directory that I installed phplist in.... /phplist/admin/

One thing I do notice is that under Configured Autoresponders, right after the ID number, and under LISTS, it says "Unknown,main" without the quotes.... "main" being the name of my list.

Am I missing something simple or does anyone know if the plugin will even work with phplist 3.0.5?

Thanks....
JerryHiggins
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 3:16pm, Tue 29 Oct, 2013


Return to Contributions: Plug-ins, Add-ons, Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests