[plugin] TinyMCE editor for phplist 3

3rd party code for phpList

[plugin] TinyMCE editor for phplist 3

Postby duncanc » 4:47pm, Tue 05 Nov, 2013

I have created a plugin to provide the TinyMCE editor for composing messages and templates. It also provides the elFinder image manager to upload and select image files.

The plugin is available on GitHub https://github.com/bramley/phplist-plugin-tinymce.

Please post questions or problems with the plugin on this topic rather than creating a new one.
duncanc
Moderator
 
Posts: 2440
Joined: 6:34am, Sat 08 May, 2010
Location: London

Re: [plugin] TinyMCE editor for phplist 3

Postby Dragonrider » 9:51pm, Tue 05 Nov, 2013

Strange, I cannot get this plugin to show on a couple of my phpList installations when using the auto install plugin option.

I uploaded the plugin using the https://github.com/bramley/phplist-plug ... master.zip link, made sure it was enabled and my other editors were disabled on the plugins page, checked that the settings page looked correct but nothing would show on the edit a message/template pages.

Checked the actual plugin directory to find that the TinyMCEPlugin directory had not uploaded. Did this manually just now and now I can see the TinyMCEEditor!!
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Re: [plugin] TinyMCE editor for phplist 3

Postby duncanc » 10:00pm, Tue 05 Nov, 2013

Yes that is a "known problem", see http://forums.phplist.com/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=39471&start=15#p98259.

It happens when the temporary directory is on a different file system than the plugin directory. The phplist code uses the rename() function, which does not work across file systems. But rename() doesn't actually throw an error, it seems to pretend that the rename worked.
The problem will apply to installing any plugin automatically, not just the TinyMCE editor.

But glad to know that the editor is displayed.
duncanc
Moderator
 
Posts: 2440
Joined: 6:34am, Sat 08 May, 2010
Location: London

[plugin] TinyMCE editor for phplist 3, Confirguration Info

Postby TexasTennis » 7:50pm, Sun 12 Jan, 2014

I have installed the Tinymce editor for my new installation of PHPlist 3.0.5.

I did it manually with no problems. I am able to enable and use.

I now need to configure Tinymce as I did in the config.php in PHPlist versions 2.xx. I have done this now on the setup page, at least partially. I am having a problem that the fullscreen addin does not work correctly. It only expands to left ~1/3 of window. Any suggestions on how to correct this? Is this a tinymce problem?

Does the config.php settings override the setup page settings?

Also, can I update to the latest version of tinymce by simply copying updated directories/files into the plugin directory as before? Or put pointer in PHPList setup to another directory external to the PHPList top directory?

Thank you?
TexasTennis
phpLister
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 5:36pm, Sun 12 Jan, 2014

Re: [plugin] TinyMCE editor for phplist 3

Postby duncanc » 11:26am, Mon 13 Jan, 2014

The plugin doesn't use settings from the old config.php, you will need to enter them on the Settings page.

The Github page explains how to upgrade to a newer release of TinyMCE.
duncanc
Moderator
 
Posts: 2440
Joined: 6:34am, Sat 08 May, 2010
Location: London

Re: [plugin] TinyMCE editor for phplist 3

Postby h1tekdeamon » 1:04pm, Tue 08 Jul, 2014

I'm trying to add codemirror plugin to tinyMCE from http://www.avoid.org/codemirror-for-tinymce4/. I followed the instruction on the page, extended the plugins list and toolbars in Config -> Settings -> TinyMCE settings -> Custom configuration settings but with no luck. All I get is empty "HTML Source Code" window. As I understand some additional steps are needed but can't figure out which. Any help would be appreciated.
h1tekdeamon
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 12:25pm, Tue 08 Jul, 2014

Re: [plugin] TinyMCE editor for phplist 3

Postby duncanc » 7:51pm, Tue 08 Jul, 2014

There is a bug in the code and documentation. In the tinymce config settings a codemirror object needs to be added, if only empty. Add this to your tinymce custom setttings, with a leading or trailing ',' depending on where you add it:
Code: Select all
codemirror: { }
duncanc
Moderator
 
Posts: 2440
Joined: 6:34am, Sat 08 May, 2010
Location: London

Re: [plugin] TinyMCE editor for phplist 3

Postby h1tekdeamon » 10:03am, Wed 09 Jul, 2014

Still unsuccessful. And I have a strong feeling that I misunderstand something (would be awful if something obvious :oops: ). I made some screenshots. Here are my TinyMCE settings in Config -> Settings (http://jmil.com.ua/files/Clip_1.jpg). With such settings I miss TinyMCE interface (http://jmil.com.ua/files/Clip_2.jpg). If in Config -> Settings -> TinyMCE settings I remove colon and curly brackets I get this (http://jmil.com.ua/files/Clip_3.jpg) (as I described in my first post).
h1tekdeamon
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 12:25pm, Tue 08 Jul, 2014

Re: [plugin] TinyMCE editor for phplist 3

Postby duncanc » 10:52am, Wed 09 Jul, 2014

You have added it at the wrong place. These are my settings:
Code: Select all
convert_urls: false,
toolbar: "insertfile undo redo | styleselect | bold italic | alignleft aligncenter alignright alignjustify | bullist numlist | link image | code",
plugins: [
        "advlist autolink lists link image charmap print preview anchor",
        "searchreplace visualblocks code fullscreen",
        "insertdatetime media table contextmenu paste codemirror"
    ],
codemirror: { }
duncanc
Moderator
 
Posts: 2440
Joined: 6:34am, Sat 08 May, 2010
Location: London

Re: [plugin] TinyMCE editor for phplist 3

Postby h1tekdeamon » 1:19pm, Wed 09 Jul, 2014

Victory... As I supposed I missed a simple thing. Thank you very much for your attention and patience.
h1tekdeamon
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 12:25pm, Tue 08 Jul, 2014

Re: [plugin] TinyMCE editor for phplist 3

Postby RVGAWebmaster » 2:58am, Sun 13 Jul, 2014

Hi Duncanc

I've installed phpList v 3.0.6 and the TinyMCE plugin from https://github.com/bramley/phplist-plug ... master.zip . The plugin was installed and enabled and within phpList Configuration/Settings I have set the paths as:

path to TinyMCE
plugins/TinyMCEPlugin/tinymce

path to elFinder
plugins/TinyMCEPlugin/elfinder

I have tried various options with every combination of /lists/admin/ added to the front of the above paths. However TinyMCE does not load into the Compose Message box when starting a campaign. I have read extensively through the forum topics and tried other path suggestions detailed in this forum, all to no avail.

Where am I going wrong??

Regards

Steve
RVGAWebmaster
phpLister
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 8:27am, Thu 12 Jun, 2014

Re: [plugin] TinyMCE editor for phplist 3

Postby duncanc » 7:06am, Sun 13 Jul, 2014

If you are using the default plugin location, plugins within the admin directory, then you should not need to change the default TinyMCE path, which should have been
Code: Select all
/lists/admin/plugins/TinyMCEPlugin/tinymce
Similarly for the location of elfinder.

If you have changed the plugin directory then you need to enter the web path, the path from the web root directory, to those directories.

Try using Firefox web console, or something similar if you are using a different browser, to confirm which files are trying to be loaded.
duncanc
Moderator
 
Posts: 2440
Joined: 6:34am, Sat 08 May, 2010
Location: London

Re: [plugin] TinyMCE editor for phplist 3

Postby RVGAWebmaster » 4:07am, Mon 14 Jul, 2014

No it's still not loading using IE or Mozilla Firefox.

The only setting I have relating to plugins in config.php is

define("PLUGIN_ROOTDIR","plugins");

If this correct, I will completely delete phpList and start again, as I may have broken something such as the system template while learning to use phpList.

Regards

Steve
RVGAWebmaster
phpLister
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 8:27am, Thu 12 Jun, 2014

Re: [plugin] TinyMCE editor for phplist 3

Postby duncanc » 6:51am, Mon 14 Jul, 2014

I doubt that it is anything to do with the system template.

First, confirm that the plugin is installed correctly, as described on the GitHub page.
Also install some other plugins to confirmt that they are also working.

In Firefox what did the web console show?
You can show the console by ctrl + shift + k then select the console tab.
Refresh the Compose tab when editing a campaign to see the files that are requested. phplist should request several TinyMCE files and the console will show which ones and whether they were found.
duncanc
Moderator
 
Posts: 2440
Joined: 6:34am, Sat 08 May, 2010
Location: London

Re: [plugin] TinyMCE editor for phplist 3

Postby RVGAWebmaster » 8:11am, Tue 15 Jul, 2014

The plugin simpleattributeselect is working OK.
Regarding TinyMCE, part of the scrip queue from Firefox is shown below. There seems to be a reported error.

GET http://www.mydomain.com/lists/admin/ui/ ... 0.1.min.js [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 140ms]
GET http://www.mydomain.com/lists/admin/plu ... mce.min.js [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 15ms]
Use of captureEvents() is deprecated. To upgrade your code, use the DOM 2 addEventListener() method. For more help http://developer.mozilla.org/en/docs/DO ... ntListener admin:92
SyntaxError: illegal character admin:119
GET http://www.mydomain.com/lists/admin/ui/ ... anding.png [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 32ms]
RVGAWebmaster
phpLister
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 8:27am, Thu 12 Jun, 2014

Next

Return to Contributions: Plug-ins, Add-ons, Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest