ckeditor install problem

Once you've installed phpList... ask questions here!
Forum rules
Please help the volunteers to help you by supplying the version of phpList you are using, browser & version and if possible, a link to your phpList installation.

ckeditor install problem

Postby mdiver » 3:02pm, Wed 13 Aug, 2014

I downloaded ckeditor placed it in the plugins directory and can see it in the settings for plug in but when I activate it (green thumbs up) I get nothing on the screen to send campaigns. What am I missing?
mdiver
phpLister
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 9:38pm, Thu 07 Aug, 2014

Re: ckeditor install problem

Postby Dragonrider » 3:37pm, Wed 13 Aug, 2014

What version of phplist are you running please? 3.0.?
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Re: ckeditor install problem

Postby mdiver » 7:31pm, Wed 13 Aug, 2014

PHPlist 3.06
mdiver
phpLister
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 9:38pm, Thu 07 Aug, 2014

Re: ckeditor install problem

Postby Dragonrider » 8:48pm, Wed 13 Aug, 2014

If you installed CKEditor through the plugins page, then it should work okay in 3.0.6, there was an issue in 3.0.5 which meant this didn't work.

Just a thought, I'm guessing as you give very little info, have you got FCKEditor installed and enabled? You can only have one editor enabled at a time.
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Re: ckeditor install problem

Postby mdiver » 10:17pm, Wed 13 Aug, 2014

I do have fckeditor install but it is red as not active. I can't get ckeditor to work? Ideas?
mdiver
phpLister
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 9:38pm, Thu 07 Aug, 2014

Re: ckeditor install problem

Postby Dragonrider » 7:34am, Thu 14 Aug, 2014

Can you compare the files in the CKEditor file against those in your installation's admin/plugins/ to make sure they are all there?

If they aren't, try uploading it manually.

Do your CKEditor settings point to your CKEditor path? Mine show as plugins/CKEditorPlugin/ckeditor
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Re: ckeditor install problem

Postby duncanc » 3:33pm, Thu 14 Aug, 2014

mdiver wrote:I downloaded ckeditor placed it in the plugins directory and can see it in the settings for plug in ut when I activate it (green thumbs up) I get nothing on the screen to send campaigns. What am I missing?

Can you confirm that you followed the installation instructions on GitHub https://github.com/bramley/phplist-plugin-ckeditor.
On the phplist Settings page, check the value for "Path to CKeditor" in the CKEditor Settings group.
duncanc
Moderator
 
Posts: 2440
Joined: 6:34am, Sat 08 May, 2010
Location: London

Re: ckeditor install problem

Postby mdiver » 3:12pm, Tue 19 Aug, 2014

I have followed the install instructions. I have verified the path. I still can't see CkEditor? I really need to get an editor to work. Please help! I get a message now that says
CKEditor is not available because the ckeditor file "/home/aquati11/public_html/dir/admin/plugins/CKEditorPlugin/ckeditor/ckeditor.js" does not exist. Check your setting for the path to ckeditor.

but my paths is correct?
/home/aquati11/public_html/dir/admin/plugins/CKEditorPlugin/ckeditor
/home/aquati11/public_html/dir/admin/plugins/CKEditorPlugin/kcfinder

I get a Green Thumbs Up when I go to plugins and click on the Plugin???
mdiver
phpLister
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 9:38pm, Thu 07 Aug, 2014

Re: ckeditor install problem

Postby duncanc » 3:20pm, Tue 19 Aug, 2014

You seem to have entered the file system path, not the web path as explained in the installation instructions
Each path should be from the web root, such as /ckeditor, not the filesystem path.
.
So your path should probably be
Code: Select all
/dir/admin/plugins/CKEditorPlugin/ckeditor
duncanc
Moderator
 
Posts: 2440
Joined: 6:34am, Sat 08 May, 2010
Location: London

Re: ckeditor install problem

Postby mdiver » 12:44am, Sat 29 Nov, 2014

I am still struggling with ckeditor installation. I can't find a path statement for ckeditor in my config.php file. Is there somewhere else I should be looking? I get the following message now when I try to activate ckeditor.

CKEditor is not available because the ckeditor file "/home/aquati11/public_html/home/aquati11/public_html/dir/admin/plugins/CKEditorPlugin/ckeditor/ckeditor.js" does not exist. Check your setting for the path to ckeditor.

I've tried to change the only path I can find for plugins which is:
define("PLUGIN_ROOTDIR","/home/aquati11/public_html/dir/admin/plugins");
to
define("PLUGIN_ROOTDIR","/dir/admin/plugins");
when I do it says plugins are available and must be manually activated.

What am I doing wrong. I can not see the editor to add pictures or setup fonts etc.
mdiver
phpLister
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 9:38pm, Thu 07 Aug, 2014

Re: ckeditor install problem

Postby duncanc » 7:11am, Sat 29 Nov, 2014

If this is a new installation of phplist then the default value for the plugin directory is simply "plugins", which you should leave alone.
Code: Select all
define("PLUGIN_ROOTDIR","plugins");

If phplist then displays a warning about the plugin directory not being writeable then you need to change the permissions of that directory to allow the web server to write to it. But again in most cases that is already the case.

Please follow the installation instructions at https://github.com/bramley/phplist-plugin-ckeditor and tell me where they are unclear or go wrong. I can then look to make them clearer.
duncanc
Moderator
 
Posts: 2440
Joined: 6:34am, Sat 08 May, 2010
Location: London


Return to Questions and Problems after Installing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron