Internal Server Error

Once you've installed phpList Version 2... ask questions here!
Forum rules
Please help the volunteers to help you by supplying the version of phpList you are using, browser & version and if possible, a link to your phpList installation. This is for Version 2 of phpList (the orange one).

Internal Server Error

Postby Trinity » 3:01pm, Sun 11 Sep, 2005

Hi,
I'm trying to install thephplist.
I have to admit PHP is not well known to me...
I uploaded the files as explained to public_html and configured config.php.

Now I try to get to listst/admin/ but it gives me the next error:

Internal Server Error
The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.

Please contact the server administrator, (webmasters email) and inform them of the time the error occurred, and anything you might have done that may have caused the error.

More information about this error may be available in the server error log.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.


What is the problem?

Thanks for your help...
Trin
Trinity
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2:57pm, Sun 11 Sep, 2005

Postby Pemolis » 7:54pm, Wed 12 Oct, 2005

I believe that particular problem has to do with the URL header.

http://www.phplist.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=3753 (thats my problem).

My guess is that when you click on the "initialize database" button, you get the error, and your address url looks like this.

lists/admin/?page=initialise&firstinstall=1


When it SHOULD look like this.

..../lists/admin/index.php?page=initialise&firstinstall=1


Thats my present problem. The scripts keep chopping out index.php from the URL whenever I click a link. Else the program would work flawlessly.
Pemolis
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 9:42pm, Tue 11 Oct, 2005

Postby k2par » 9:43pm, Tue 25 Oct, 2005

Have the same problem, how do I fix the chopping out of INDEX.PHP, I tried editing the htaccess file, but no help. Plus I have godaddy as hosting company, let me know what I need to do.
k2par
phpLister
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 4:48pm, Fri 21 Oct, 2005

Permissions and .htaccess

Postby kidsport » 4:50pm, Thu 03 Nov, 2005

I was getting the same errors. I installed the program through Fantastico which is provided by my hosting provider. To make the 500 Internal server errors go away they changed 2 thigns for me.

1. File permissions on all files were set to 644. Permissions on all directories were set to 755.

2. In the .htaccess files the php variable enable magic quotes gpc set to on was removed. My hosting provider runs Apache in cgi mode and the php directives in the .htaccess file will not work in that configuration.

Hope this helps you.......
kidsport
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 4:45pm, Thu 03 Nov, 2005


Return to Question & Problems - after installing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests