[solved] Send a Message screen: nothing under the tabs

Questions & Problems about Installing or Upgrading Version 2 phpList
Forum rules
Please help the volunteers to help you by supplying the version of phpList you are using, browser & version and if possible, a link to your phpList installation. This is for Version 2 of phpList (the orange one).

[solved] Send a Message screen: nothing under the tabs

Postby FAP » 11:38pm, Tue 12 May, 2009

Hi,

Thanks for making Phplist. I am trying to install it (v 2.10.10) for the first time and have a problem.

The Send a Message screen is blank under the tabs "Content Forum Scheduling Criteria Lists Misc "

If I click on any of the tabs, the screen under the line of tabs is blank.

This problem happens in IE8 and Firefox 3.0.10.0.

I have spent a few hours in this forum and read of problems that may be similar, but none of the solutions I have tried have fixed it. I have tried:
1) Removing the following line in fckphplist.php:
line 589 // FCKConfig.ProtectedSource.Add( /<%[\s\S]*?%>/g ) ; // ASP style server side code <%...%>
http://mantis.phplist.com/view.php?id=11755

2) Disabling FCKeditor in /config/config.php
define("USEFCK",0);

3) asp_tags is set to Off in my php.ini

If I look at the source code for the page in my browser, the last line is:
<form method=post name="sendmessageform"><input type=hidden name="workaround_fck_bug" value="1">

I am not sure if that is meant to be the last line, it seems a bit unusual for source to end with a line like that.

I would greatly appreciate some help.

Kind regards
Peter
FAP
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 11:13pm, Tue 12 May, 2009

Re: Problem with Send a Message screen: nothing under the tabs

Postby H2B2 » 12:55am, Wed 13 May, 2009

Could you take a look at admin/send_core.php and uncomment line 1034 (i.e., remove the // at the beginning of the line).
Code: Select all
//value="'.htmlentities(iconv('ISO-8859-1','UTF-8',$subject),ENT_QUOTES,'UTF-8').'" size=40></td></tr>
H2B2
Moderator
 
Posts: 7188
Joined: 1:51am, Wed 15 Mar, 2006

Re: Problem with Send a Message screen: nothing under the tabs

Postby FAP » 1:21am, Wed 13 May, 2009

Thank you very much that seems to have fixed it :D
FAP
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 11:13pm, Tue 12 May, 2009

Re: Problem with Send a Message screen: nothing under the tabs

Postby sun2006 » 8:19pm, Wed 13 May, 2009

I still have the same problem. The source of the html page still ending with the same code :
</script>
<form method=post name="sendmessageform"><input type=hidden name="workaround_fck_bug" value="1">

Could you please summarize what needs to be done with v2.10.10 in order to resolve the blank content part on the send a message page. Any need to re-install phplist after making these changes ?

Thanks in advance
sun2006
phpLister
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 8:11pm, Wed 13 May, 2009

Re: Problem with Send a Message screen: nothing under the tabs

Postby eweriuer » 9:19pm, Wed 13 May, 2009

Same problem here, i uncommented the line as said in the second post but it didn't resolve the problem.
eweriuer
phpLister
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 9:18pm, Wed 13 May, 2009

Re: Problem with Send a Message screen: nothing under the tabs

Postby taydeko » 3:50am, Thu 14 May, 2009

This issue was addressed in
Issues after fresh install on version 2.10.10 [solved]


Try it, I think it will probably fix your problem.
taydeko
phpLister
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 9:59pm, Sat 09 May, 2009

Re: Problem with Send a Message screen: nothing under the tabs

Postby eweriuer » 1:25pm, Thu 14 May, 2009

Do you mean to install a new 2.10.10 ?

I just unpacked the 2.10.10 files and put in the right config.php , this is not a fresh install ?
eweriuer
phpLister
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 9:18pm, Wed 13 May, 2009

Re: Problem with Send a Message screen: nothing under the tabs

Postby H2B2 » 9:49pm, Thu 14 May, 2009

H2B2
Moderator
 
Posts: 7188
Joined: 1:51am, Wed 15 Mar, 2006

Re: Problem with Send a Message screen: nothing under the tabs

Postby badcrocodile » 4:42am, Mon 18 May, 2009

I changed lines 1031 through 1042 to the following and everything worked:

Code: Select all
$maincontent .= '
<tr><td>'.Help("subject").' '.$GLOBALS['I18N']->get("Subject").':</td>
<td><input type=text name="msgsubject"
value="'.htmlentities($subject,ENT_QUOTES,'UTF-8').'" size=40></td></tr>
<tr>
<td colspan=2>
</td></tr>
<tr><td>'.Help("from").' '.$GLOBALS['I18N']->get("fromline").':</td>
<td><input type=text name=from
value="'.htmlentities($from,ENT_QUOTES,'UTF-8').'" size=40></td></tr>
<tr><td colspan=2>
</td></tr>';
badcrocodile
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 4:35am, Mon 18 May, 2009

Re: Problem with Send a Message screen: nothing under the tabs

Postby reflex » 2:56am, Sat 13 Jun, 2009

I am experiencing the same problem, I freshly installed php list, applied the changes to those lines... and nothing... any clue on how to solve this?

I have no tabs... see screen capture

Thanks in advance
Attachments
phperror.jpg
no tabs on send message page
phperror.jpg (55.34 KiB) Viewed 13709 times
reflex
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2:49am, Sat 13 Jun, 2009

Re: Problem with Send a Message screen: nothing under the tabs

Postby reflex » 3:35am, Sat 13 Jun, 2009

Well FCKEditor seems to be my problem, I turned it off and the tabas and everything else appears...

:?
reflex
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2:49am, Sat 13 Jun, 2009

Re: [solved] Send a Message screen: nothing under the tabs

Postby Vaughan » 6:23am, Mon 05 Jul, 2010

In January I upgraded PHP list to version 2.10.10 and I lost all the information from under the tabs when trying to send a message. By using one of the suggested methods above I was able to solve the problem! :-) But I just upgraded to 2.10.12 and I have the same problem again :-(. I tried all the suggested methods above but nothing worked :-(... I am new at this game and it looks as if I will have to send out our next newsletter manually.... Any ideas? I have no experience with the coding and I am lost trying to restore things with tasks like editing line 9999, untar, emptying the database etc... but I will have to learn I guess! Thanks for any help you can give...
Vaughan
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 6:11am, Mon 05 Jul, 2010

Re: [solved] Send a Message screen: nothing under the tabs

Postby H2B2 » 8:34am, Mon 05 Jul, 2010

Vaughan wrote:I just upgraded to 2.10.12 and I have the same problem again :-(. I tried all the suggested methods above but nothing worked :-(...

If you are running v2.10.11 or v2.10.12, one possible cause for this issue is that your PHP installation doesn't include the iconv module. You can check this by looking at your system details: lists/admin/?page=community

For a fix, please see viewtopic.php?p=74779#p74779 in the bug discussion forum.
H2B2
Moderator
 
Posts: 7188
Joined: 1:51am, Wed 15 Mar, 2006


Return to Installing & Upgrading

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest