[bugfix] 2.10.7 / 2.10.8 - User List not displayed

Discuss, research, share, find, and solve bugs

[bugfix] 2.10.7 / 2.10.8 - User List not displayed

Postby erin3 » 7:11am, Wed 05 Nov, 2008

Query error in Users List for the "all" and "view" $access cases: the number of total users and the number of unconfirmed users (at the top of the users list pages) gave SQL errors executing "count(DISTINCT *)..." code. As best as I can recall, this was a new bug in 2.10.7

I resolved this issue by copying the superuser case to a new "all" case in:
/admin/commonlib/pages/users.php

(This seems to work for my needs, I don't recommend it for everyone)
erin3
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 9:32pm, Wed 02 Jan, 2008

No user listing

Postby Guest » 3:30pm, Tue 18 Nov, 2008

I get no users list under admin/?page=users

I only see the header down to the two links
"download all users as csv file" and
"add a user"

after this two links the document ends. There is also no Sidebar available any more.
Guest
 

Re: No user listing

Postby Dragonrider » 7:19pm, Tue 18 Nov, 2008

roland wrote:I get no users list under admin/?page=users

I only see the header down to the two links
"download all users as csv file" and
"add a user"

after this two links the document ends. There is also no Sidebar available any more.

Probably an error in the config/config.php file, don't keep your old config file, you must update the new one to your db/site settings. This fixed this issue for me.
My sites:- http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk, http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk, http://emergencyaid.net, http://dragonrider.co.uk
Latest phpList version is now 3.0.12 (3 February 2015) and requires a minimum of MySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.3.x
Dragonrider
Moderator
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: 6:58am, Sun 02 Jul, 2006
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Users still missing

Postby Guest » 6:35pm, Thu 20 Nov, 2008

Hi,

I've just upgraded from 2.10.4 to 2.10.7 and the userlist is also missing when I click on users.

I'm using the new config file with settings from my old config file. I've copied, re-checked, re-copied config settings over and over again and I still cannot get the userlist back.

I've even tried many variations on a theme for commenting out and changing the reference to the "plugins" in config as recommended in another thread. This just results in "helloworld" and "sidebar" coming and going. (But still no users).

Any other suggestions?
Guest
 

Re: Users still missing

Postby H2B2 » 7:31pm, Thu 20 Nov, 2008

Vox wrote:Any other suggestions?
Not really for the moment. You could monitor the threads mentioned in this report, as well as the report itself, to see if anything new comes up : http://mantis.phplist.com/view.php?id=15184

As a general remark to all users reporting issues. Please always include some basic info on your system/server setup:
- OS platform
- Server software version (e.g. Apache/IIS)
- versions of PHP, MySQL

as well as any other info that might help developers in reproducing the issue. This should help speed up the troubleshooting process.
H2B2
Moderator
 
Posts: 7188
Joined: 1:51am, Wed 15 Mar, 2006

Postby Guest » 7:51pm, Thu 20 Nov, 2008

Hi Bill,

Sorry - I should have thought that when I ask you to find a "needle in a haystack", it would help if I told you which "haystack" to look in !

Linux
Apache 1.3.37
PHP 5.2.3 (running as cgi-fcgi)
MySQL 5.0.41
Guest
 

Postby Guest » 10:41pm, Thu 20 Nov, 2008

I am hitting this same error too & am running:

Linux
1.3.39 (Unix)
MySQL client version: 4.1.22
PHP version 4.4.7

I installed it thru our version of Cpanel. cPanel Version 11.23.6-STABLE

I'm having users added daily, and have to run an extract to make sure I'm confirming them all.

A fix to this would be wonderful......
Guest
 

Postby Guest » 4:27am, Sat 22 Nov, 2008

I did a new install 2.10.7 and after getting everything working, and adding several users I noticed I wasn't getting the user list and the side menu was gone. I had it at one time.

After reading this post I went back and checked my config and the only thing I had changed was
define("PLUGIN_ROOTDIR","plugins");

I had uncommented this and commented out the line above
#define("PLUGIN_ROOTDIR","/var/www/html/phplistplugins)";
so I could see the sample plugins. When I reset the commented lines to original but with my correct path everything worked correctly.

Linux
MySQL 4.1.20
PHP Version 4.3.9
Apache/2.0.52 (CentOS)
Guest
 

Postby Guest » 7:19pm, Sat 22 Nov, 2008

kitsguru wrote:I did a new install 2.10.7 and after getting everything working, and adding several users I noticed I wasn't getting the user list and the side menu was gone. I had it at one time.

After reading this post I went back and checked my config and the only thing I had changed was
define("PLUGIN_ROOTDIR","plugins");

I had uncommented this and commented out the line above
#define("PLUGIN_ROOTDIR","/var/www/html/phplistplugins)";
so I could see the sample plugins. When I reset the commented lines to original but with my correct path everything worked correctly.

Linux
MySQL 4.1.20
PHP Version 4.3.9
Apache/2.0.52 (CentOS)


I have a very simple installation without any plugins, and the installation is hosted in an environment I don't very limited capabilities to see/change things. Anyhow, I had the same problem, no users visible. What did the trick was to comment out the plugin rootdir in config.php, i.e.:

# uncomment this one to see the examples in the system (and then comment the
# one above)
define("PLUGIN_ROOTDIR","plugins");

->

# uncomment this one to see the examples in the system (and then comment the
# one above)
#define("PLUGIN_ROOTDIR","plugins");

Linux 2.6.24.2-g-r3 #1 SMP
MySQL: Server version: 4.1.22-standard
PHP: 4.4.2
Apache: Don't know...
Guest
 

Postby Guest » 9:47am, Wed 26 Nov, 2008

Thanks for the fix.

I've tried both individually and they didn't work for me unfortunately. Hopefully might hit the spot for some of the others.
Guest
 

Postby Guest » 10:42am, Wed 26 Nov, 2008

I'm pretty sure it's a coding error - the users page is incompatible with one or more of the plugins that are installed.

If you're comfortable editing the code, you can make either one of these changes to fix the problem:

Option one
Edit admin/commonlib/pages/users.php, starting on line 384. Change this:
Code: Select all
### allow plugins to add columns
foreach ($GLOBALS['plugins'] as $plugin) {
  $plugin->displayUsers($user, $user['email'], $ls);
}

into this:
Code: Select all
### allow plugins to add columns
foreach ($GLOBALS['plugins'] as $plugin) {
  if(method_exists($plugin, "displayUsers")) {
    $plugin->displayUsers($user, $user['email'], $ls);
  }
}


Option two
Edit admin/defaultplugin.php, insert the following code between lines 29 and 30.
Code: Select all
function displayUsers($user, $email, $listing) {
  # Do nothing
}


PS: I'm cross posting this to several threads, hoping that the various individuals hit by this issue see one of them. I apologize to anyone who gets multiple notifications for this.
Guest
 

Postby Guest » 1:24pm, Wed 26 Nov, 2008

Reposting to add this at the bottom of the thread.

Thanks for the fix.

I've tried both individually and they didn't work for me unfortunately. Hopefully might hit the spot for some of the others.
Guest
 

Brand new Fantastico install

Postby Guest » 11:32pm, Sun 30 Nov, 2008

Brand new Fantastico install -
and I had same problem. Commenting out the line in config.php solved it.
Guest
 

Fixed the problem

Postby cespinoza » 9:45pm, Thu 04 Dec, 2008

Thanks e28eta your solution solved the problem.
cespinoza
phpLister
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 5:20pm, Wed 02 Jul, 2008

Postby megan_taylor1 » 5:20am, Fri 05 Dec, 2008

Same problem with new fantastico install. kitsguru's commenting/uncommenting fixed!

Thank goodness for forums!
megan_taylor1
PL Nut
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 12:48am, Fri 14 Sep, 2007

Next

Return to Bug Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests