Error 404 when 'send a message' is clicked

Start here! No need to ask twice :)

Error 404 when 'send a message' is clicked

Postby jwrourke » 4:57am, Wed 07 Dec, 2005

Just started using phplist and I'm sure the send a message link was working up until about a week ago.

every time I select "send a message" I get a 404 page not found error.

I've done numerous searches in this form for an answer to this problem but there seems to be many people with the same problem but no solution.


Any body have one?
jwrourke
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 4:47am, Wed 07 Dec, 2005

Re: Error 404 when send a message is clicked

Postby michiel » 11:31am, Fri 03 Feb, 2006

jwrourke wrote:everytime I select "send a message" I get a 404 page not found error.


When you click send a message, phplist creates a message and then redirects to http://whateverisinyourconfigasdomain/l ... e=send&id=[newmessageid]

so, the 404 error is probably caused by an incorrect value for "website" in "configuration".
if that value is correct, also check the config file for the paths in $pageroot and $adminpages
michiel
Admin
 
Posts: 1022
Joined: 10:18pm, Fri 11 Apr, 2003
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

thanks

Postby sroyers » 12:08pm, Fri 03 Feb, 2006

Michiel,

You were right, the URL for 'website' was wrong (typed the URL to the PHPlist app, instead of to the root website).

Thanks!

Another problem occurs now: the processqueue result page does not display the results, but breaks at random places... sometimes it only shows the page header image, sometimes I get a few lines of text. If I check the source code, it does indeed stop somewhere in the middle of the page. Any clues on that?
sroyers
PL Nut
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 7:26am, Thu 17 Jul, 2003

Postby norma-aguilera » 7:16pm, Fri 06 Apr, 2007

I have the same problem.

Everthing work excep the "send a message" page.

I already changed the default values and I double check my url.

When I type the "send a message" button, I get redirected to this url:

http://www.example.com/lists/admin/?page=send

but if I manually enter this page:
http://www.example.com/lists/admin/?page=send&id=1

it works.

Does anybody else know what else could be wrong?

Thanks!
Norma
norma-aguilera
phpLister
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2:57pm, Sun 06 Aug, 2006

Postby norma-aguilera » 7:23pm, Fri 06 Apr, 2007

I found my error. It was on my config.php file. I was using the incorrect path.
Instead of using "lists/admin" I was using "list/admin"


$pageroot = '/lists';
$adminpages = '/lists/admin';


Thanks!
norma-aguilera
phpLister
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2:57pm, Sun 06 Aug, 2006

Postby dfreitas » 10:39pm, Thu 05 Jul, 2007

It's exacly this problem I have too. Does anyone knows how to solve this?? it's not possible that phplist has these kind of bugs!!!??

Can i hardcode the correct line on the send link?

Best Regards,
Duarte
dfreitas
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 10:29pm, Thu 05 Jul, 2007

Postby H2B2 » 7:15pm, Sun 15 Jul, 2007

dfreitas wrote:It's exacly this problem I have too. Does anyone knows how to solve this?? it's not possible that phplist has these kind of bugs!!!??
It seems to me this is a configuration error, and NOT a bug. You'd best review your configuration of the above mentioned settings for errors, i.e.:
- on the configuration page, check the value you entered for website
- In the config.php file, check the values you entered for pageroot and adminpages.

Ref: http://docs.phplist.com/PhplistTroubleshooting
H2B2
Moderator
 
Posts: 7188
Joined: 1:51am, Wed 15 Mar, 2006

Postby kittie » 1:35am, Fri 16 May, 2008

I have tried everything that has been recommended and am still having this problem. If I add an id number to the page like this /lists/admin/?page=send&id=1 it works. Can anyone help?!
kittie
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 12:43am, Fri 16 May, 2008

Postby needorf » 12:16am, Thu 05 Jun, 2008

kittie wrote:I have tried everything that has been recommended and am still having this problem. If I add an id number to the page like this /lists/admin/?page=send&id=1 it works. Can anyone help?!

After several hours i found the problem is in the config.php
$pageroot = '/lists';
$adminpages = '/phplist/lists/admin';

You have to add the folder name where phplist is. For example i put mine on the folder "phplist" as you can see on $adminpages; otherwise it takes you to a page that doesn't exist. Check the address when you click on Send a message, you can see there's something in the route that is missing.
needorf
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 12:07am, Thu 05 Jun, 2008

Postby wgardner » 3:26am, Tue 29 Jul, 2008

needorf, you are right on, the adminpages variable seems to be set wrong. For those who might not understand what to do from needorf's post, here's what you gotta do:

1. go to your config file:
<your_document_root>/phplist-2.10.5/public_html/lists/config

2. find that $adminpages line and set it to what your page is on your site:

Example: http://www.example.com/whatever/phplist/...
Set:
$adminpages = '/whatever/phplist/...';
wgardner
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 3:19am, Tue 29 Jul, 2008

Postby Guest » 10:26pm, Sat 23 Aug, 2008

I had this problem and none of the suggestions so far helped me, so I had to figure this one out.

If you are having a problem like kllw above with this message:
Forbidden
You don't have permission to access /maillist/admin/FCKeditor/editor/fckeditor.php on this server."

Notice the php on the end? Well that was my problem. Only fckeditor.php doesn't exist, it is really fckeditor.html.

I had a rewrite rule set in the main directory of my site that rewrote all php files as html files. So to solve my problem, I had to add a line to the .htaccess file in the /lists subdirectory (folder for you windows wimps) like this:
RewriteEngine Off

That turns off the html/php rewriting thing and then php will call for the html file instead of the non-existant php file.

Hope that helps any one else with this problem in the future.
Guest
 

Postby john12 » 1:14pm, Fri 20 Mar, 2009

i had the same problem too.

its the wrong path.
cause i created a folder called mails

so my path is actually /mails/lists/admin
and IT WORKED!!!!
john12
phpLister
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2:57am, Sun 01 Mar, 2009

Blank page when selecting send a message

Postby ben@slgwebdesign.co.uk » 10:01pm, Mon 06 Apr, 2009

I am having problems with the sendmail function when I select it I just get a blank page have tried all the suggestions on here. None of them seem to be working all the other pages work fine but not this one even if i add the id=1 still no better. Please Help really like the software just obviously want to send mail out.
ben@slgwebdesign.co.uk
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 9:45pm, Mon 06 Apr, 2009

Re: Error 404 when 'send a message' is clicked

Postby festus » 4:59am, Fri 29 May, 2009

Dear All,
I suspect this error message needs slightly different path entry depending on the hosting server and the phplist version. Any way, i have installed php ver 2.10.10 and at the westhost.com hosting site, with 'custom install' into the folder /var/www/mylist, following configuration works:

48. $pageroot = '/www/mylist';
49. $adminpages = '/admin';

Hope this helps someone else who may be experiencing this problem.

Best Regards,

Festus
festus
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 3:23am, Sat 23 May, 2009

Re: Error 404 when 'send a message' is clicked

Postby robbiesloane » 12:52pm, Fri 06 Aug, 2010

It was on my config.php file. I was using the incorrect path. Instead of using "lists/admin" I was using "list/admin"

$pageroot = '/lists';
$adminpages = '/lists/admin';
robbiesloane
phpList newbie
 
Posts: 0
Joined: 8:10am, Tue 03 Aug, 2010

Next

Return to Frequently Asked Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests